Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: CHI @ EDM - 5:51 of the Third Period

Original call stands - good goal Chicago Blackhawks

NHL.com @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: CHI vs EDM

Situation Room: Kane's goal stands after review

The Oilers challenge for goaltender interference before Patrick Kane's goal, but after review, the call on the ice stands

  • 02:23 •

At 5:51 of the third period in the Blackhawks/Oilers game, Edmonton requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Chicago's Brandon Saad interfered with goaltender Cam Talbot prior to Patrick Kane's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Referee, the Situation Room confirmed that the position of Saad did not by itself impact Talbot's ability to play his position in the crease and therefore no goaltender interference infractions occurred. The decision was made in accordance with Rule 69.7 which states, in part, that the goal on the ice should have been allowed because "in a rebound situation, or where a goalkeeper and attacking player(s) are simultaneously attempting to play a loose puck, whether inside or outside the crease, incidental contact will be permitted, and any goal that is scored as a result thereof will be allowed."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Chicago Blackhawks.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Edmonton Oilers forfeit their time-out.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.