Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Vancouver Canucks

Canucks set roster, name leadership group for 2018.19 season

...four players named alternate captains

by Canucks Media Relations @Canucks / Vancouver Canucks

Vancouver, B.C. - Canucks General Manager Jim Benning and Head Coach Travis Green announced today the club's 23-man opening night roster ahead of the season opener versus Calgary on Wednesday, October 3rd.

Benning and Green also announced the leadership appointments of Alex Edler, Bo Horvat, Brandon Sutter and Chris Tanev who will serve as alternate captains for the 2018.19 season.

"Alex Edler, Bo Horvat, Brandon Sutter and Chris Tanev form our leadership group as alternate captains, supported by a wider group of veteran players," said Green. "Our team culture will be built from leadership by committee. It will be a big part of our process and our identity each and every game."


  • Sven Baertschi
  • Jay Beagle
  • Brock Boeser
  • Loui Eriksson
  • Nikolay Goldobin
  • Markus Granlund
  • Bo Horvat
  • Brendan Leipsic
  • Tyler Motte
  • Elias Pettersson
  • Tim Schaller
  • Brandon Sutter
  • Jake Virtanen


  • Alex Biega
  • Michael Del Zotto
  • Alexander Edler
  • Erik Gudbranson
  • Ben Hutton
  • Derrick Pouliot
  • Troy Stecher
  • Christopher Tanev


  • Jacob Markstrom
  • Anders Nilsson

*Antoine Roussel begins the season on injured reserve

*Thatcher Demko begins the season on non-roster injured reserve


Video: Hear from the Canucks 2018-2019 alternate captains

View More