Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

WJHC: Caufield, Harris named to Team USA's preliminary roster

Caufield is enjoying an outstanding campaign at Wisconsin, while Harris is playing solid hockey at Northeastern

by Matt Cudzinowski @CanadiensMTL /

MONTREAL - Prospects Cole Caufield and Jordan Harris were named to the U.S. National Junior Team's preliminary roster for the 2020 IIHF World Junior Hockey Championship on Monday.

Caufield, who was selected 15th overall by the Canadiens at the NHL Draft in June, has been enjoying a standout freshman campaign at the University of Wisconsin (NCAA - Big Ten).

Through 18 games with the Badgers so far this season, the 18-year-old forward boasts a team-leading 12 goals and 20 points. 

The Stevens Point, WI native also leads head coach Tony Granato's contingent with five power play markers and 79 shots on goal.

Tweet from @BadgerMHockey: 🚨Caufield's 11th of the season puts the #Badgers up one halfway through the second!🚨

Caufield leads the nation in shots on goal and sits tied for second in goals as well.

The Badgers' sniper has previously represented his country internationally on several occasions, including the 2019 IIHF World U-18 Championship where he led all players with 14 goals and earned top forward and tournament MVP honors.

Tweet from @BadgerMHockey: 🚨Badgers up 3-1 thanks to GOAL CAUFIELD🚨

Harris, meanwhile, has three goals and 11 points in 17 games with Northeastern University (NCAA - Hockey East) so far this year.

The 19-year-old sophomore defenseman ranks second on the Huskies in points among blueliners, and also boasts 18 blocked shots.

A native of Haverhill, MA, Harris was selected in the third round, 71st overall by the Canadiens in the 2018 NHL Draft.

Caufield and Harris were two of 28 players named on Monday. The Team USA brass is expected to whittle down the roster to 23 players by December 24. 

This year's edition of the World Junior Hockey Championship will be held in the Czech Republic from December 26 - January 5.

The Finns are the defending tournament champions.

View More