Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Habs EVP France Margaret Bélanger named to Executive Inclusion Council

The Council will work to develop tangible actions and benchmarks to advance inclusion and diversity in hockey

by Shauna Denis @CanadiensMTL /

MONTREAL -- On Thursday, the National Hockey League announced an extensive list of initiatives that are being launched with a focus on combatting racism and promoting inclusion in hockey. 

The initiatives that have been committed to by the League, its member clubs, and the Players' Association range from a joint project with the Hockey Diversity Alliance to help establish a grassroots hockey development program, to team-level inclusion and social justice learning experiences and workshops, to the creation of the Executive Inclusion Council (EIC), the Player Inclusion Committee (PIC), the Fan Inclusion Committee (FIC) and the Youth Hockey Inclusion Committee (YHIC). 

Canadiens Executive Vice President and Chief Commercial Officer France Margaret Bélanger will sit on the 15-person EIC, which will be co-chaired by Sabres owner Kim Pegula and NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman. Per the NHL's release, the Executive Inclusion Council "will be committed to spearheading more inclusive thinking and more inclusive outcomes throughout the hockey ecosystem by candidly assessing its current state; identifying opportunities for positive change; and developing tangible action steps and benchmarks that will advance both the inclusion and diversity of the sport. This Council will focus on the importance of metrics and accountability."

"I am honoured to be representing the Montreal Canadiens on the NHL's Executive Inclusion Council. This will allow our organization to play an important role in promoting diversity and inclusion within the League," said France Margaret Bélanger. 

The 15-person Council is made up of the following team owners and executives: 

Gary Bettman, NHL Commissioner (Co-Chair)  
Kim Pegula (Co-Chair) Buffalo Sabres
Mark Chipman Winnipeg Jets
Earl Stafford Washington Capitals
Vincent Viola Florida Panthers
Club Executives  
Xavier Gutierrez Arizona Coyotes
France Margaret Belanger Montreal Canadiens
Kerry Bubolz Vegas Golden Knights
Valerie Camillo Philadelphia Flyers
David Morehouse Pittsburgh Penguins
Hugh Weber New Jersey Devils
Dr. Joel Boyd Minnesota Wild
Other Hockey Leaders  
Jim Nill Dallas Stars
Doug Wilson San Jose Sharks
Ted Nolan 3Nolans Foundation

Click HERE to read the NHL's full press release. 

View More