Skip to main content
The Official Site of the St. Louis Blues

O'Reilly selected as finalist for Selke Trophy

by Chris Pinkert / Video by Blue Note Productions

ST. LOUIS - Ryan O'Reilly has been selected as a finalist for Frank J. Selke Trophy, given annually to the forward who "best excels in the defensive component of the game."

O'Reilly joins the Boston Bruins' Patrice Bergeron and the Vegas Golden Knights' Mark Stone as finalists for the award.

The Selke Trophy winner is selected with votes from members of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association and will be revealed at the 2019 NHL Awards on June 19 in Las Vegas.

In the 2018-19 regular season, O'Reilly set career-highs in assists (49), points (77) and plus/minus (plus-22). He finished the season as the League's top face-off man, winning 1,086 draws. In January, O'Reilly represented the St. Louis Blues at the 2019 NHL All-Star Game - his second appearance at the mid-season showcase.

Video: O'Reilly nominated for Selke Trophy

The Selke Trophy was first awarded following the 1977-78 season. Montreal Canadiens legend Bob Gainey won it in each of the first four years. Bergeron has since joined Gainey as the only other player to win the award four times. Montreal's Guy Carbonneau, Detroit's Pavel Datsyuk and Dallas' Jere Lehtinen have each won the Selke three times.

Rick Meagher is the only Blue to win the award, claiming it after the 1989-90 season.

View More