Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the St. Louis Blues

Armstrong named finalist for NHL General Manager of the Year

by Chris Pinkert / St. Louis Blues

ST. LOUIS - Doug Armstrong has been chosen as a finalist for the NHL General Manager of the Year Award, which is given annually to the "general manager who best excelled at his role during the regular season."

Armstrong joins Boston's Don Sweeney and Carolina's Don Waddell as a finalist for the award, which will be presented at the 2019 NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 19.

In November, with his club starting the season 7-9-3, Armstrong made the decision to make a coaching change and put Associate Coach Craig Berube in charge behind the bench. Despite being last in the standings on Jan. 3, the Blues went 30-10-5 to end the regular season and now find themselves in the Western Conference Final for the second time under Armstrong's lead.

Armstrong has put together a roster that has reached the playoffs seven times in his nine seasons with the Blues, and the club's 403 wins in that span are tied with Boston for the third most in the NHL, trailing only the Pittsburgh Penguins (419) and Washington Capitals (408).

Armstrong isn't the only one from the Blues organization to receive a nomination at the NHL Awards. Ryan O'Reilly is a finalist for the Selke Trophy and the Lady Byng, while Jordan Binnington is a finalist for the Calder Trophy as the NHL's top rookie. In addition, Berube finished as a finalist for the Jack Adams Award, given to the League's coach of the year.

Armstrong previous won the General Manager of the Year Award in 2012.

View More