Skip to Main Content
Hockey Is For Everyone

NHL announces You Can Play club ambassadors

One player per team to be leader on diversity, equality as part of Hockey Is For Everyone month

by NHL Public Relations @PR_NHL

In support of their longstanding commitment to diversity and inclusion in hockey, the National Hockey League, the League's Member Clubs and the NHLPA will spotlight a variety of community-related initiatives for Hockey Is For Everyone throughout the month of February. 

Hockey Is For Everyone month is conducted in partnership with the You Can Play Project, a nonprofit committed to supporting the LGBTQ community and fighting homophobia in sports. For the first time, each of the 30 NHL clubs have designated one player to be a You Can Play ambassador, which means being a leader in the locker room and in the community on diversity, equality, and inclusion. These players have agreed to lead the way in their markets and fight homophobia in sports; some will be featured in local public service announcements. 

Select clubs will designate one home game as a You Can Play night, celebrating members of the local LGBTQ community with ceremonial puck drops, anthem singers, features on hometown heroes, and "Pride Tape" that will be used during warmups.

"We are extremely proud of the work these teams and players are doing to promote respect for the LGBTQ community," said Wade Davis, director of professional sports outreach for You Can Play. "These You Can Play/Pride games and PSAs during Hockey is For Everyone month are a powerful reminder of how partnerships like the one between the NHL, NHLPA, and You Can Play can have a major positive impact on millions of players, staff members, and fans worldwide."

Here are the YCP ambassadors for each club:

Anaheim Ducks -- Ryan Kesler

Arizona Coyotes -- Oliver Ekman-Larsson

Boston Bruins -- Brad Marchand

Buffalo Sabres -- Anders Nilsson

Carolina Hurricanes -- Eddie Lack

Calgary Flames -- Matt Stajan

Chicago Blackhawks -- Trevor Van Riemsdyk

Colorado Avalanche -- Gabriel Landeskog

Columbus Blue Jackets -- Scott Hartnell

Dallas Stars -- Curtis McKenzie

Detroit Red Wings -- Frans Nielsen

Edmonton Oilers -- Matt Hendricks

Florida Panthers -- Shawn Thornton

Los Angeles Kings -- Dustin Brown

Minnesota Wild -- Charlie Coyle

Montreal Canadiens -- Andrew Shaw

Nashville Predators -- Colin Wilson

New Jersey Devils -- Andy Greene

New York Islanders -- Casey Cizikas

New York Rangers -- Mats Zuccarello

Ottawa Senators -- Dion Phaneuf

Philadelphia Flyers -- Claude Giroux

Pittsburgh Penguins -- Chris Kunitz

San Jose Sharks -- Chris Tierney

St. Louis Blues -- David Perron

Tampa Bay Lightning -- Brian Boyle

Toronto Maple Leafs -- James van Riemsdyk

Vancouver Canucks -- Henrik Sedin

Washington Capitals -- Braden Holtby

Winnipeg Jets -- Jacob Trouba

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.