Skip to Main Content
This Date in NHL History

May 19: Flyers become first expansion team to win Stanley Cup

Plus: Oilers end Islanders dynasty; Sharks goalie Flaherty makes 56 saves

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor


1974: The Philadelphia Flyers become the first expansion team to win the Stanley Cup when they defeat the Boston Bruins 1-0 at the Spectrum in Game 6 of the Final. 

Rick MacLeish scores a power-play goal at 14:48 of the first period, deflecting a shot by defenseman Andre Dupont past Gilles Gilbert for what turns out to be the only goal of the game.  

Bernie Parent makes 30 saves for his second NHL postseason shutout. Parent is voted winner of the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP after finishing 12-5 with a 2.02 goals-against average in 17 games.

Video: Memories: Flyers win Stanley Cup to make history



1984: The Edmonton Oilers end one dynasty and start another when they defeat the New York Islanders 5-2 at Northlands Coliseum in Game 5 of the Stanley Cup Final to win their first championship. Wayne Gretzky scores two first-period goals and assists on a goal by Ken Linseman early in the second period. Islanders rookie Pat LaFontaine scores twice in the first minute of the third period to cut Edmonton's lead to 4-2, but goalie Andy Moog keeps New York from getting any closer until Dave Lumley hits the empty net. The Oilers become the first former World Hockey Association team to win the Cup. Edmonton, which was swept by the Islanders in the Final a year earlier, goes on to win the Cup four times in five years. The loss ends the Islanders' four-year run as champions and stops their streak of 19 consecutive series victories, an NHL record that has yet to be approached.

Video: 1984 Cup Final, Gm5: Oilers take the Cup from Isles


1994: Stephane Matteau scores at 6:13 of the second overtime to give the New York Rangers a 3-2 win against the New Jersey Devils in Game 3 of the Eastern Conference Final in East Rutherford, New Jersey. Matteau beats Martin Brodeur on the Rangers' 50th shot of the game, putting New York ahead 2-1 in the best-of-7 series. It's the first of two double-overtime goals by Matteau in the series.


1995: Wade Flaherty makes 56 saves in his second NHL playoff start before Ray Whitney scores the winning goal at 1:54 of the second overtime, giving the San Jose Sharks a 5-4 victory against the Calgary Flames at the Saddledome in Game 7 of the Western Conference Quarterfinals. After the Sharks fail to hold three two-goal leads, Flaherty survives a 17-shot barrage in the first overtime before Whitney, the second player taken by the expansion Sharks in the 1991 NHL Draft, gets the winner against Trevor Kidd.


1996: Paul Coffey becomes the highest goal-scoring defenseman in NHL playoff history by scoring twice in the Detroit Red Wings' 3-2 overtime loss to the Colorado Avalanche in Game 1 of the Western Conference Final. Coffey scores a power-play goal in the first period and a shorthanded goal early in the third. His 57 career playoff goals are one more than Denis Potvin.

Video: Paul Coffey is one of three D-men to score 40 goals


2008: The Red Wings advance to the Final for the first time since 2002 by defeating the Dallas Stars 4-1 at American Airlines Center in Game 6 of the Western Conference Final. Kris Draper, Pavel Datsyuk and Dallas Drake score in the first period to give Detroit a 3-0 lead, and Henrik Zetterberg adds a shorthanded goal early in the second. Chris Osgood makes 28 saves to help the Red Wings close out the Stars after Dallas wins Game 4 and 5. Datsyuk's goal is his ninth of the 2008 playoffs and the 11th consecutive playoff goal he's scored on the road, including his last two in 2007.


2012: Chris Kreider scores one of the Rangers' three third-period goals in a 3-0 victory against the Devils at Prudential Center in Game 3 of the Eastern Conference Final. It's the fifth goal of the playoffs for Kreider, who joins the Rangers for the playoffs after their 82-game regular season concludes. He sets an NHL record for most goals scored in the playoffs by a player who has yet to play in a regular-season game, passing Eddie Mazur, who scores four times for the Montreal Canadiens in 1951 and '52.


2015: Marcus Kruger ends the longest game in the history of the Chicago Blackhawks when he scores at 16:12 of the third overtime, giving Chicago a 3-2 victory against the Anaheim Ducks in Game 2 of the Western Conference Final at Honda Center. A shot by defenseman Brent Seabrook hits Kruger in the glove and drops to the ice; he quickly scores to tie the series at one win apiece.


2016: Martin Jones makes 22 saves for his second consecutive shutout and the Sharks defeat the St. Louis Blues 3-0 in Game 3 of the Western Conference Final at SAP Center. Tomas Hertl scores twice for the Sharks, who move within two victories of their first trip to the Stanley Cup Final.


2017: Matt Murray makes 24 saves to help the Pittsburgh Penguins hold off the Ottawa Senators 3-2 at Canadian Tire Centre, evening the Eastern Conference Final at two wins apiece. The Penguins lead 3-0 midway through the second period, but goals by Clarke MacArthur and Tom Pyatt get the Senators within one before they run out of time. It's the first playoff start in 2017 for Murray after he replaces Marc-Andre Fleury in Game 3; he starts every game for the Penguins on the way to their second straight championship.


2018: The Tampa Bay Lightning move within one win of their second trip to the Stanley Cup Final in four years when they defeat the Washington Capitals 3-2 at Amalie Arena in Game 5 of the Eastern Conference Final. Andrei Vasilevskiy makes 28 saves for the Lightning, who hang on for the win after taking a 3-0 lead on goals by Cedric Paquette, Ondrej Palat and Ryan Callahan in the first 20:33.


2019: Jaden Schwartz scores three goals for his second hat trick of the playoffs, helping the Blues defeat the Sharks 5-0 at SAP Center in Game 5 of the Western Conference Final. The hat trick gives Schwartz 12 goals during the 2019 postseason, one more than he scores during 69 regular-season games. He's the first player with multiple hat tricks in one playoff year since Johan Franzen of the Red Wings in 2008. Forward Vladimir Tarasenko becomes the first player in Blues history to score on a penalty shot in the playoffs since St. Louis enters the NHL in 1967. The Blues move within one win of their first trip to the Stanley Cup Final since 1970.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.