Skip to Main Content
NHL Awards

NHL Conn Smythe Trophy Winners

Presented since 1965 to MVP of Stanley Cup Playoffs @NHLdotcom

The Conn Smythe Trophy is an annual award given "to the most valuable player for his team in the playoffs." The winner is selected by the Professional Hockey Writers Association at the conclusion of the last game in the Stanley Cup Final.

The trophy was presented by Maple Leaf Gardens Limited in 1964 to honor Conn Smythe, the former coach, manager, president and owner-governor of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

A total of 47 players have won the trophy, including Jean Beliveau of the Montreal Canadiens, who won the first, awarded in 1965.

Patrick Roy is the only three-time winner. Five players -- Bobby Orr, Bernie Parent, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux and Sidney Crosby -- have won it twice. Roy was the youngest to win; he was 20 when he did so with the Canadiens in 1986.

Five players have won the trophy as a member of the losing team in the Cup Final: Roger Crozier (1966, Detroit Red Wings), Glenn Hall (1968, St. Louis Blues), Reggie Leach (1976, Philadelphia Flyers), Ron Hextall (1987, Flyers), and Jean-Sebastien Giguere (2003, Mighty Ducks of Anaheim).


[RELATED: Complete list of NHL Awards and Trophies winners]


Video: Vasilevskiy wins Conn Smythe award 


Conn Smythe Trophy Winners
  • 2021: Andrei Vasilevskiy, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2020: Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2019: Ryan O'Reilly, St. Louis Blues
  • 2018: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
  • 2017: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2016: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2015: Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2014: Justin Williams, Los Angeles Kings
  • 2013: Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2012: Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings
  • 2011: Tim Thomas, Boston Bruins
  • 2010: Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks
  • 2009: Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 2008: Henrik Zetterberg, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2007: Scott Niedermayer, Anaheim Ducks
  • 2006: Cam Ward, Carolina Hurricanes
  • 2004: Brad Richards, Tampa Bay Lightning
  • 2003: Jean-Sebastien Giguere*, Mighty Ducks of Anaheim
  • 2002: Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit Red Wings
  • 2001: Patrick Roy, Colorado Avalanche
  • 2000: Scott Stevens, New Jersey Devils
  • 1999: Joe Nieuwendyk, Dallas Stars
  • 1998: Steve Yzerman, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1997: Mike Vernon, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1996: Joe Sakic, Colorado Avalanche
  • 1995: Claude Lemieux, New Jersey Devils
  • 1994: Brian Leetch, New York Rangers
  • 1993: Patrick Roy, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1992: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1991: Mario Lemieux, Pittsburgh Penguins
  • 1990: Bill Ranford, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1989: Al MacInnis, Calgary Flames
  • 1988: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1987: Ron Hextall*, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1986: Patrick Roy, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1985: Wayne Gretzky, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1984: Mark Messier, Edmonton Oilers
  • 1983: Billy Smith, New York Islanders
  • 1982: Mike Bossy, New York Islanders
  • 1981: Butch Goring, New York Islanders
  • 1980: Bryan Trottier, New York Islanders
  • 1979: Bob Gainey, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1978: Larry Robinson, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1977: Guy Lafleur, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1976: Reggie Leach*, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1975: Bernie Parent, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1974: Bernie Parent, Philadelphia Flyers
  • 1973: Yvan Cournoyer, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1972: Bobby Orr, Boston Bruins
  • 1971: Ken Dryden, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1970: Bobby Orr, Boston Bruins
  • 1969: Serge Savard, Montreal Canadiens
  • 1968: Glenn Hall*, St. Louis Blues
  • 1967: Dave Keon, Toronto Maple Leafs
  • 1966: Roger Crozier*, Detroit Red Wings
  • 1965: Jean Beliveau, Montreal Canadiens

* Indicates that player was a member of the losing team in the Final.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.