Skip to Main Content
This Date in NHL History

Aug. 25: Horton, Delvecchio inducted into Hockey Hall of Fame

Plus: Kansas City Scouts move to Colorado, renamed Rockies

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor


1977: Two longtime rivals whose NHL careers continue into their 40s are part of the new class at the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Alex Delvecchio, a center who spends all of his 23 full NHL seasons with the Detroit Red Wings, and defenseman Tim Horton, who spends two decades with the Toronto Maple Leafs before playing for three other teams, are inducted into the Hall along with three builders: Harold Ballard, Joseph Cattarinich and John "Bunny" Ahearne.

Delvecchio is still third among all NHL players in games played with one franchise (1,549), trailing only longtime linemate Gordie Howe and defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom. Horton is a linchpin in the Maple Leafs' four Stanley Cup championships in the 1960s and still an effective defenseman with the Buffalo Sabres at age 44 when he dies in an auto accident on Feb. 21, 1974.

Delvecchio and Horton are named to the 100 Greatest NHL Players in 2017.

Video: Alex Delvecchio was third member of 1,000-point club



1939: Recently retired NHL star Babe Siebert drowns while on vacation at his family's cottage on Lake Huron in St. Joseph, Ontario. Siebert is preparing for his debut as coach of the Montreal Canadiens after ending his playing career following the 1938-39 season, but never gets the chance. The NHL stages the Babe Siebert Memorial Game at the Montreal Forum on Oct. 29, 1939, raising $15,000 for Siebert's widow and daughters. He is inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1964.


1976: The NHL comes to the Rocky Mountains for the first time when the Kansas City Scouts relocate to Denver. But the renamed franchise, now known as the Colorado Rockies, enjoys little more success in its new home than it does during two seasons in Kansas City; the Rockies make the Stanley Cup Playoffs once in six seasons before the franchise moves again, this time to New Jersey, in 1982.

View More