Skip to Main Content
Ted Lindsay Award

Kucherov of Lightning wins Ted Lindsay Award

Forward voted most outstanding player by NHLPA after leading League in scoring @NHLdotcom

LAS VEGAS -- Nikita Kucherov of the Tampa Bay Lightning won the Ted Lindsay Award, given annually to the most outstanding player in the NHL as voted by members of the NHL Players' Association, at the 2019 NHL Awards presented by Bridgestone on Wednesday.

Kucherov played all 82 games and won the Art Ross Trophy as the leading scorer in the NHL scorer after helping Tampa Bay win the Presidents' Trophy and tie the NHL single-season record for victories (62). His NHL career high 128 points (41 goals, 87 assists) were the most by a Russia-born player, surpassing the 127 set by Alexander Mogilny with the Buffalo Sabres in 1992-93.

"It means a lot to me," Kucherov said. "You compete against those guys every night and you get recognition from them. It definitely means a lot. I'm really happy."

Kucherov led the NHL in multipoint games (38), points per game (1.56) and power-play points (48). His 87 assists led the NHL and tied the single-season record by a wing set by Jaromir Jagr with the Pittsburgh Penguins in 1995-96.


[RELATED: NHL Awards results | Complete NHL Awards coverage]


A first-time finalist, Kucherov is the second Lightning player to win the award, joining Martin St. Louis (2003-04).

Edmonton Oilers center Connor McDavid and Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane were the other finalists.

McDavid, who finished second in scoring (116 points), won the Ted Lindsay Award the previous two seasons.

Kane, who finished third in scoring (110 points), won the award in 2015-16.

View More