Skip to Main Content
NHL Awards

Ovechkin, Pastrnak share Rocket Richard Trophy as NHL goals leaders

Capitals captain wins award for ninth time after tying Bruins forward with 48

by David Satriano @davidsatriano / Staff Writer

2019-20 Regular Season Awards

2020 NHL Awards: Ross, Richard, Jennings Trophies

Find out who has won the Art Ross Trophy, Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy, and the William M. Jennings Trophy

  • 00:59 •

Alex Ovechkin of the Washington Capitals and David Pastrnak of the Boston Bruins won the Rocket Richard Trophy for leading the NHL in goals this season.

Each forward scored 48 goals (Ovechkin in 68 games, Pastrnak in 70) before the season was paused March 12 due to concerns surrounding the coronavirus.

The NHL in its Return to Play Plan announcement May 26 said there would be no more regular-season games, instead restarting with eight teams in each conference playing a Qualifying Round for the Stanley Cup Playoffs, with a Seeding Round Robin featuring the top four teams in each conference.

It's the ninth time Ovechkin has led the NHL in goals, including each of the past three seasons; he scored 51 goals in 2018-19 and 49 in 2017-18. Ovechkin also led the NHL in 2007-08 (65), 2008-09 (56), 2012-13 (32), 2013-14 (51), 2014-15 (53) and 2015-16 (50).

Video: NHL Tonight Talks 2020 NHL Awards

The No. 1 pick in the 2004 NHL Draft, Ovechkin (34 years, 178 days old at time of season pause) is the third-oldest player to lead the NHL in goals, behind Gordie Howe of the Detroit Red Wings in 1962-63 (34 years, 358 days) and Bill Cook of the New York Rangers in 1932-33 (36 years, 165 days).

Ovechkin, who became the eighth player in NHL history to reach 700 goals when he scored against the New Jersey Devils on Feb. 22, began the season in 13th place on the NHL all-time goals list with 658 and finished it eighth with 706, passing Luc Robitaille (668 goals), Teemu Selanne (684), Mario Lemieux (690), Steve Yzerman (692) and Mark Messier (694). Ovechkin is two goals behind Mike Gartner (708) for seventh.

Ovechkin has 11 seasons of at least 45 goals and was two from reaching 50 for the ninth time in his 15-season NHL career.

Named one of the 100 Greatest NHL Players presented by Molson Canadian in 2017, Ovechkin has won the Hart Trophy as NHL MVP three times (2007-08, 2008-09, 2012-13) and the Art Ross Trophy as NHL scoring champion once (2007-08), and he was the Calder Trophy winner as NHL rookie of the year in 2005-06. He is the only player in NHL history to win the Stanley Cup (2018), Conn Smythe (playoff MVP, in 2018), Calder, Art Ross, Rocket Richard and Hart trophies, and the Ted Lindsay Award (voted best player by peers; three times 2007-10).

It is the first time Pastrnak, who turned 24 on May 25, has won the Rocket Richard Trophy. He set an NHL career high in goals this season and has increased his total in each of the past five seasons. He has scored at least 34 goals in each of the past four seasons, and his 155 since 2016-17 are third in the NHL behind Ovechkin's 181 and Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews's 158.

Pastrnak led the NHL with 20 power-play goals and was tied for third in points (95) for the Bruins, who won the Presidents' Trophy with the best record in the regular season (44-14-12, 100 points).

View More