Skip to Main Content

AHL All-Star rosters filled with NHL first-round picks, call-ups

Four-team tournament to be held Jan. 28 in Springfield @NHLdotcom

A handful of first-round NHL Draft picks and a number of players who've been called up by NHL teams were named to the four division rosters for the 2019 American Hockey League All-Star Classic in Springfield, Massachusetts, on Jan. 28.

Among those selected by committees of AHL coaches were forward Michael Dal Colle, the No. 5 pick of the New York Islanders in the 2014 NHL Draft, and forward Denis Gurianov, chosen by the Dallas Stars with the No. 12 pick in the 2015 NHL Draft. Forwards Henrik Borgstrom (Florida Panthers, No. 23, 2016 NHL Draft) and John Quenneville (New Jersey Devils, No. 20, 2014) were also named, as was Stockton forward Curtis Lazar, the No. 17 pick of the Ottawa Senators in the 2013 NHL Draft, who was traded to the Calgary Flames on March 1, 2017.

Twenty-six AHL All-Stars have been recalled to the NHL this season including Dal Colle, goalie Mackenzie Blackwood (Devils), defenseman Lawrence Pilut (Buffalo Sabres), goalie Collin Delia (Chicago Blackhawks), and forwards Drake Batherson (Ottawa Senators) and Brandon Pirri (Vegas Golden Knights).

Teams representing each of the AHL's four divisions will participate in a 3-on-3, round-robin tournament featuring six 10-minute games. The two teams with the best records at the end of the round-robin will play for the championship in a six-minute, 3-on-3 game.

The 2019 AHL All-Star Skills Competition, pitting All-Stars from the two Eastern Conference divisions against those from the two Western Conference divisions in seven skills events, will take place Jan. 27.


Atlantic Division All-Stars

D Sebastian Aho, Bridgeport (1st appearance)

F Henrik Borgstrom, Springfield (1st)

D Trevor Carrick, Charlotte (2nd)

F Greg Carey, Lehigh Valley (1st)

F Michael Dal Colle, Bridgeport (1st)

F Ryan Fitzgerald, Providence (1st)

D John Gilmour, Hartford (2nd)

F Janne Kuokkanen, Charlotte (1st)

F Colin McDonald, Lehigh Valley (3rd)

G Sam Montembeault, Springfield (1st)

D Ethan Prow, Wilkes-Barre/Scranton (1st)

G Vitek Vanecek, Hershey (1st)

Coach: Mike Vellucci, Charlotte (1st)


North Division All-Stars

F Drake Batherson, Belleville (1st appearance)

F Alex Belzile, Laval (1st)

G Mackenzie Blackwood, Binghamton (1st)

F Reid Boucher, Utica (2nd)

F Cory Conacher, Syracuse (3rd)

F Zac Dalpe, Cleveland (1st)

G Connor Ingram, Syracuse (1st)

F Trevor Moore, Toronto (1st)

D Lawrence Pilut, Rochester (1st)

F John Quenneville, Binghamton (1st)

D Zach Redmond, Rochester (2nd)

D Calle Rosen, Toronto (1st)

Coach: Benoit Groulx, Syracuse (2nd)


Central Division All-Stars

F Mason Appleton, Manitoba (2nd appearance)

D Erik Brannstrom, Chicago (1st)

D Andrew Campbell, Rockford (1st)

F Daniel Carr, Chicago (1st)

G Collin Delia, Rockford (1st)

D Matt Donovan, Milwaukee (2nd)

F Denis Gurianov, Texas (1st)

G Kaapo Kahkonen, Iowa (1st)

F Jordan Kyrou, San Antonio (1st)

F Cal O'Reilly, Iowa (5th)

F Brandon Pirri, Chicago (3rd)

F Chris Terry, Grand Rapids (4th)

Coach: Tim Army, Iowa (1st)


Pacific Division All-Stars

F Andrew Agozzino, Colorado (2nd appearance)

D Kyle Capobianco, Tucson (2nd)

G Pavel Francouz, Colorado (1st)

F Joe Gambardella, Bakersfield (1st)

F Conor Garland, Tucson (1st)

G Josef Korenar, San Jose (1st)

F Curtis Lazar, Stockton (1st)

D Jacob Middleton, San Jose (1st)

F Francis Perron, San Jose (1st)

F Sheldon Rempal, Ontario (1st)

F Troy Terry, San Diego (1st)

D Sean Walker, Ontario (1st)

Coach: Roy Sommer, San Jose (3rd)

View More