Skip to Main Content
Press Release

NHL announces start times for 2020-21 regular season

Penguins at Flyers commence five-game opening night Jan. 13

by NHL Public Relations @PR_NHL

Get set for NHL action in 2021

New-look NHL coming on Jan. 13

Check out some of the best that 2020 had to offer, as the puck drops on a new-look NHL season on Jan. 13, 2021

  • 00:59 •

NEW YORK -- The National Hockey League today announced start times for the 2020-21 regular season. The 2020-21 regular season will commence Wednesday, Jan. 13, with a five-game slate, including Pittsburgh at Philadelphia at 5:30 p.m. ET; Montreal at Toronto at 7 p.m. ET; Chicago at Tampa Bay at 8 p.m. ET; Vancouver at Edmonton at 10 p.m. ET; and St. Louis at Colorado at 10:30 p.m. ET.

In addition, the NHL today announced the following date changes to the 2020-21 regular season:

• Game #161, Anaheim at Los Angeles, is now scheduled for Tuesday, Feb. 2 (originally scheduled for Feb. 3)
• Game #345, Vancouver at Winnipeg, is now scheduled for Monday, March 1 (originally scheduled for Feb. 28)


[RELATED: 2020-21 NHL schedule2020-21 NHL regular season schedule by team]


The 868-game regular-season schedule -- 56 games per team -- will conclude Saturday, May 8, when 30 of the League's 31 teams take to the ice. The complete 2020-21 NHL regular-season schedule is attached below.

For the 2020-21 season, teams will be re-aligned as follows:

Each team in the East, Central and West divisions will play every other team in its division eight times while each team in the North Division will play every other team in its division nine or 10 times.

The top four teams in each division will qualify for the Stanley Cup Playoffs, with intradivisional play in the first two rounds (#1 vs. #4; #2 vs. #3). The four teams that advance to the Semifinal Round would be seeded by their regular season points total, with the No. 1 seed playing the No. 4 seed in one series and the No. 2 and No. 3 seeds meeting in the other.

View More