Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Vote For The 2016-17 Hit Of The Year

Nelson? Clutterbuck? Ladd? Who should win the #IslesAward for Hit of the Year

by New York Islanders NYIslanders / New York Islanders

John Tavares joined Thomas Greiss as a 2017 #IslesAwards winner for his jaw-dropping goal against the St. Louis Blues, but #IslesAwards marches on. Next up is Hit of the Year - and considering the Islanders dished out 2126 hits in 2016-17, the third-most in the NHL, we had plenty to choose from this season. 

Vote for your favorite by tweeting out the corresponding hashtag. Voting ends on Friday at 11:59 p.m. est. 

Nominee 1: Brock Nelson vs Brooks Orpik

Brock Nelson is known more for picking corners rather than roughing guys up in the corner, but underestimate him at your own peril. Brooks Orpik tried to stand the Islanders forward up at the Capitals blue line and Nelson just trucked right through him. 

Nominee 2: Cal Clutterbuck vs Brian Campbell

Cal Clutterbuck is always on the hunt for his next hit and tossed Brian Campbell when the Blackhawks came to Barclays Center. This guy always finishes his checks and this was no different, but you can pretty much pencil in Clutterbuck to any "hit" list. 

Nominee 3: Andrew Ladd vs Brandon Dubinsky

Andrew Ladd gets an #IslesAwards nomination in his first season with the team for this hit against Columbus' Brandon Dubinsky. Ladd staples Dubinsky to the boards with a good shoulder and the Blue Jackets captain clearly didn't like it, as they dropped the gloves immediately after. 

View More