Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Cizikas Wins Second Straight Bob Nystrom Award

Casey Cizikas scored a career-high 20 goals in 2018-19

by Sasha Kandrach KandrachSasha /

Casey Cizikas was chosen as the 2018-19 recipient of the Bob Nystrom Award, capturing the honor for the second straight year. The recognition was voted by fans and given to the player among the New York Islanders roster who best exemplifies leadership, hustle and dedication. 

Cizikas, who reached the 20-goal mark for the first time in his eight-year NHL career, doubled his previous high in goals and recorded a career-best 33 points (20G, 13A) through 73 games played. The 28-year-old center was a fixture in the Isles lineup, as he centered the Islanders, 'Identity Line' alongside veterans Cal Clutterbuck and Matt Martin. Cizikas was a mainstay on the Isles penalty kill and posted a team-high two shorthanded goals. 

Cizikas ranked second on the Isles in faceoff winning percentage (49.06%). Cizikas led all forwards in plus-minus and was ranked second among the entire team with a plus-22 rating. 

Cizikas' contributions extended past the scoresheet. The Toronto native made his presence known with each shift as he provided essential energy and relentless physicality. During the Stanley Cup Playoffs, Cizikas frequently went head-to-head against other team's top offensive threats. 

Past winners:

2017-18 Casey Cizikas
2016-17 Anders Lee
2015-16 Matt Martin
2014-15 Matt Martin
2013-14 Matt Martin
2012-13 Matt Martin
2011-12 Matt Martin
2010-11 Frans Nielsen
2009-10 Kyle Okposo
2008-09 Tim Jackman
2007-08 Richard Park
2006-07 Trent Hunter
2005-06 Kevin Colley

2003-04 Adrian Aucoin
2002-03 Jason Blake/Garth Snow
2001-02 Steve Webb
2000-01 Dave Scatchard
1999-2000 Claude Lapointe
1998-99 Claude Lapointe
1997-98 Rich Pilon
1996-97 Claude Lapointe
1995-96 Dan Plante
1993-94 Steve Thomas
1992-93 Benoit Hogue
1991-92 Ray Ferraro
1990-91 Brent Sutter

View More