Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Boston Bruins

Kevan Miller Nominated For 2020 Bill Masterton Trophy

by Boston Bruins @NHLBruins / Boston Bruins

BOSTON - Bruins defenseman Kevan Miller  is the Boston Bruins 2020 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy nominee, as selected by the Boston chapter of the Professional Hockey Writer's Association (PHWA). The Masterton Trophy is given to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

Miller, 32, did not play a single game for the Bruins in 2019-20 while trying to recover from serious knee injuries suffered during the 2018-19 season. His 2018-19 campaign was limited to just 39 games due to a fractured kneecap, and the 6-foot-2, 210-pound defenseman suffered a setback during his rehabilitation, re-injuring the kneecap in an effort to get back on the ice for the Bruins during their Stanley Cup Playoffs run. 

Throughout his rehabilitation, Miller has been a constant presence at Warrior Ice Arena, putting in the hours in the gym, on the ice and in the training room to try to be a contributing factor for the Bruins once again. His dedication and perseverance has not gone unnoticed by those around the team. 

"Since working his way up to the NHL six years ago, Kevan Miller has shown nothing but dedication, perseverance and sportsmanship in his time with the Bruins. He worked his way into the NHL as an undrafted college player and he's been a strong, courageous and tough player on the ice that perfectly embodies the Bruins way," said Professional Hockey Writers Association Boston Chapter Chair Joe Haggerty. "This season injuries challenged his dedication and perseverance while keeping him out of any games. But Miller never backed down and never stopped working for a return. None of it was easy for Miller, but his resilient response perfectly embodies the spirit of a Bill Masterton Trophy candidate." 

Miller has remained active in the Boston community throughout his career, serving as a spokesperson and vocal advocate for the Brain Aneurysm Foundation among other charitable endeavors. He is also an active supporter of the U.S. military and a leading contributor to the Bruins' annual Military Appreciation Night. 

The winner of the Masterton Trophy is selected by a vote of the 31 chapters of the PHWA at the conclusion of the regular season. Zdeno Chara  (2019, 2017), David Backes (2018), Jonas Gustavsson (2016) and Patrice Bergeron (2015) were previous Masterton nominees.

View More