Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the St. Louis Blues

Tarasenko nominated for Masterton Trophy

by Chris Pinkert / St. Louis Blues

Vladimir Tarasenko has been nominated for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy by the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA).

The award is given annually to a player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. One player from each NHL team is nominated by the local PHWA chapter, and from those nominees, three finalists will be chosen later.

The winner will be named at the 2021 NHL Awards.

Tarasenko returned to the lineup on March 6, 2021 after undergoing his most recent shoulder surgery in August 2020.

Since April 2018, Tarasenko has had three shoulder surgeries.

In 24 games this season, Tarasenko has posted four goals and 10 assists (14 points).

Former Blues defenseman Jay Bouwmeester was nominated in each of the two previous seasons. Only two Blues players in franchise history have won the Masterton: Jamie McLennan (1998) and Blake Dunlop (1981).

View More