Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

Blue Jackets present Sergei Bobrovsky with Community MVP Award

The award recognizes the player who best exemplifies service, dedication and leadership

by Staff BlueJacketsNHL /

Bobrovsky: 2017-18 Community MVP

Bobrovsky earns the Blue Jackets Community MVP award

Sergei Bobrovsky receives the Community MVP award from Kathryn Dobbs, Executive Director of the Columbus Blue Jackets Foundation

  • 00:20 •

COLUMBUS, OHIO - The Columbus Blue Jackets announced today that goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky has been named the recipient of the club's 2017-18 Community MVP Award which recognizes the player who best exemplifies service, dedication and leadership. In appreciation, the Columbus Blue Jackets Foundation will make a $5,000 donation to a charity of Bobrovsky's choice.

During the course of the 2017-18 season, Sergei and his wife, Olga, treated approximately 1,000 children and families to a suite night experience as part of Bob's Battalion. Their guests enjoyed Blue Jackets games, concerts and special events in a catered suite and each went home with a Bob's Battalion keepsake. The suite is also equipped with a set of "Bob's" goalie equipment that offers kids a try-on station and photo opportunity.

Children's-focused community partners that have benefitted include: A Kid Again, After-School All-Stars Ohio, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Boys and Girls Club of Central Ohio, Central Ohio Girls Hockey Ohio, Columbus Ice Hockey Club, Girls on the Run of Central Ohio, JDRF Central Ohio, Nationwide Children's Hospital, Ohio Sled Hockey and Special Hockey.

In addition to joining his teammates to visit young patients at Nationwide Children's Hospital and sort food at Mid-Ohio Foodbank, Bobrovsky also participated in this year's Flashes of Hope photo shoot alongside several pediatric cancer patients during a practice visit to Nationwide Arena.

The team has recognized a player for outstanding community service since the 2002-03 season. Past winners are: 2002-03 - Tyler Wright; 2003-04 - Luke Richardson; 2005-06 - Manny Malhotra; 2006-07 - Jody Shelley; 2007-08 - Dan Fritsche; 2008-09 - Rick Nash; 2009-10 - R.J. Umberger; 2010-11 - Jared Boll; 2011-12 - Marc Methot; 2012-13 - Derek MacKenzie; 2013-14 - Derek MacKenzie; 2014-15 - Nick Foligno; 2015-16 - David Clarkson; 2016-17 - Nick Foligno.

View More