Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

2017 Mr. Hockey Candidates Announced

Minnesota Minute Men release finalists for Mr. Hockey and the Frank Brimsek Award

by Minnesota Wild @mnwild /

ST. PAUL -- The Minnesota Minute Men announced today the Top Ten Candidates for the 33rd Annual Mr. Hockey Award are: Matt Anderson (Holy Family), Noah Cates (Stillwater), Nick Leivermann (Eden Prairie), Ben Meyers (Delano), Micah Miller (Grand Rapids), Casey Mittelstadt (Eden Prairie), Bauer Neudecker (St. Louis Park), Nick Perbix (Elk River), Dylan Samberg (Hermantown) and Ryan Sandelin (Hermantown). The Minnesota Minute Men also announced today that Jake Begley (Hill Murray) and Cade McEwen (Hermantown) are the finalists for the Frank Brimsek Award, in recognition of the state's top senior goaltender. 

The 33rd annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet will be held at 12 p.m. Sunday, March 12 at the St. Paul RiverCentre Grand Ballroom (175 Kellogg Boulevard). The Minnesota State High School League Boys' Hockey Tournament will be held at Xcel Energy Center and Mariucci Arena, March 8-11. The Minnesota Wild sponsor the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet. The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted, coordinated, and presented by the Minnesota Minute Men. 

The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding senior high school boys' hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of NHL scouts, junior scouts/coaches and selected media members from around the state. Three other awards will be presented at the banquet: the Frank Brimsek Award, the John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year and the Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the "Old Timer Coach" of the year. 

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Riley Tufte (2016), Jake Jaremko (2015), Avery Peterson (2014), Grant Besse (2013), Justin Kloos (2012), Kyle Rau (2011), Nick Bjugstad (2010), Nick Leddy (2009), Aaron Ness (2008), Ryan McDonagh (2007), David Fischer (2006), Brian Lee (2005), Tom Gorowsky (2004), Nate Dey (2003), Gino Guyer (2002), Marty Sertich (2001), Paul Martin (2000), Jeff Taffe (1999), John Pohl (1998), Aaron Miskovich (1997), Dave Spehar (1996), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Mike Crowley (1994), Nick Checco (1993), Brian Bonin (1992), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Trent Klatt (1989), Larry Olimb (1988), Kris Miller (1987), George Pelawa (1986) and Tom Chorske (1985). 

Previous Frank Brimsek Award winners are: Nick Althaus (2016), Dyllan Lubbesmeyer (2015), Hunter Shepard (2014), David Zevnik (2013), Michael Bitzer (2012), Alex Lyon (2011), Zane Gothberg (2010), Casey O'Connor (2009), Joe Phillippi (2008), Reid Ellingson (2007), Austin Lee (2006), Alec Richards (2005), Matt Lundin (2004), Jon Anderson (2003), Josh Johnson (2002), Eric Aarnio (2001), Jake Brant (2000), Adam Laaksonen (1999), Adam Coole (1998), Kyle Kolquist (1997), Karl Goehring (1996) and Todd Kelzenberg (1995). 

View More