Skip to main content



Capitals out to add Stanley Cup to Presidents' Trophy

Washington looking to become ninth team to win both in same season @NHL

The Washington Capitals clinched the Presidents' Trophy on Monday with a 4-1 win against the Columbus Blue Jackets, and will try to become the ninth team to win the Stanley Cup in the same season.

Of the 29 previous winners, eight have gone on to hoist the Cup. The last was the Chicago Blackhawks in 2012-13. Prior to that, the Detroit Red Wings accomplished the feat in 2007-08.

The Capitals (54-16-5) tied their franchise record for wins set in 2009-10, the only previous time they won the Presidents' Trophy. That season, they finished with 121 points and a 54-15-13 record but lost in the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals to the Montreal Canadiens in seven games.

The other Presidents' Trophy winners to win the Stanley Cup were the Edmonton Oilers (1986-87), Calgary Flames (1988-89), New York Rangers (1993-94), Dallas Stars (1998-99), Colorado Avalanche (2000-01) and Red Wings (2001-02).

In addition to the eight Presidents' Trophy winners who have gone on to win the Stanley Cup, three have gone on to lose in the Finals, six lost in the Conference Finals, six lost in the second round and six lost in the first round.

View More