Skip to main content
Situation Room

Video Review: MIN @ BUF - 13:45 of the Third Period

No goal Minnesota

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: MIN vs. BUF

Situation Room: No-goal call stands in Buffalo

3/5/16: After Robin Lehner goes into the net with the puck, the on-ice call of no goal stands when it is deemed the play is not reviewable

  • 03:01 •

At 13:45 of the third period in the Wild/Sabres game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Buffalo net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he deemed the play to be over when goaltender Robin Lehner made the initial save, before being propelled into the net with the puck by Minnesota's Charlie Coyle. According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed "when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Minnesota.

View More