Skip to Main Content
Short Shifts

Canucks honor four legends with new banners to start off Sedin Week

Smyl, Linden, Bure and Naslund honored with new banners at Rogers Arena

by Dan O'Leary @DanOLeary25 / Staff Writer

Canucks hold Legends Night

NSH@VAN: Canucks honor legends with pregame tribute

The Canucks honor Stan Smyl, Trevor Linden, Pavel Bure and Markus Naslund on Legends Night as part of Sedins Week in Vancouver

  • 07:00 •

On Wednesday night, the Vancouver Canucks will honor the legendary careers of the Sedin brothers, Daniel and Henrik. On Monday, they went a little further into the past.

The four Canucks players who had previously had their numbers retired - Stan Smyl, Trevor Linden, Pavel Bure and Markus Naslund - were honored on Legends Night at Rogers Arena.

Smyl's No. 12 was lifted to the rafters after wearing it from 1978-1991. He led the Canucks to their first Stanley Cup Final appearance.

Linden played 16 of his 19 NHL seasons in Vancouver serving as team captain at just 21 years old. He was also invested into the Order of Canada for his work away from the ice.

Markus Naslund played 12 seasons in Vancouver serving as captain for seven of them. He was the first Canucks player to win the Ted Lindsey Award (formerly the Lester B. Pearson Award), given to the most outstanding player voted by the NHLPA. back in 2003. Naslund's No. 19 was retired after the 2008-09 season.

Not in attendance, but there via video, was Pavel Bure. Known as the Russian Rocket, No. 10 spent seven seasons with Vancouver, leading the Canucks, along with Linden, to the 1994 Stanley Cup Final.

The four legends, who drew plenty of applause, including from the Sedins watching from a suite, were given new banners with their era-appropriate colors and logo.

Smyl, Linden and Naslund then dropped the ceremonial first puck.

View More