Skip to main content
US Hockey Hall of Fame

Five named to U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame

17-year NHL forward Scott Young, former coaches Ron Wilson, Jack Parker, Ben Smith, ex-NHL linesman Kevin Collins will be honored

by Mike G. Morreale @mikemorrealeNHL / Staff Writer

Two-time Stanley Cup champion Scott Young, former coaches Ron Wilson, Jack Parker and Ben Smith, and retired NHL linesman Kevin Collins, were named to the United States Hockey Hall of Fame on Monday.

The date and location of the 45th U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame induction dinner and ceremony will be announced soon. The NHL's Lester Patrick Trophy, awarded annually for outstanding service to hockey in the United States, will also be presented during the ceremony.

"Each of the inductees has contributed in extraordinary fashion to the growth and development of hockey in our country," said Jim Smith, president of USA Hockey. "The members of the Class of 2017 have positively impacted the game, from the grassroots to the highest levels, through playing, coaching and officiating. We very much look forward to formally enshrining each of them into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame later this year."

Young (Clinton, Massachusetts) played right wing at Boston University for Parker and scored 65 points (31 goals, 34 assists) in 71 games during two seasons. He represented the United States in three Winter Olympics (1988, 1992, 2002), winning a silver medal in 2002. He also won a gold medal with the United States at the World Cup of Hockey in 1996, a team coached by Wilson.

Video: Scott Young on US Hockey Hall of Fame Induction

Young, a first-round pick (No. 11) by the Hartford Whalers in the 1986 NHL Draft, played 17 seasons and won the Stanley Cup with the Pittsburgh Penguins in 1991 and Colorado Avalanche in 1996. He retired in 2006 with 757 points (342 goals, 415 assists) in 1,181 NHL games with seven teams. 

Wilson coached the U.S. to the gold medal at the inaugural World Cup of Hockey in 1996 and a silver medal at the 2010 Vancouver Olympics. He also guided the U.S. National Junior Team to a bronze medal at the 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship. Wilson coached the United States at the 1998 Nagano Olympics, losing to the Czech Republic in the quarterfinal round.

Wilson was 648-561-91 with 101 ties during 18 seasons as an NHL coach with the Toronto Maple Leafs (2008-12), San Jose Sharks (2002-08), Washington Capitals (1997-2002) and the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim (1993-97). In 15 full NHL seasons, Wilson's teams reached the Stanley Cup Playoffs eight times, won four division titles and the Eastern Conference championship with the Capitals in 1998. They lost to the Detroit Red Wings in the Stanley Cup Final.

Wilson was born in Windsor, Ontario, and raised in Fort Erie, Ontario, but moved to Riverside, Rhode Island, when he was 12 years old and starred at Providence College (1973-77). He was chosen in the seventh round (No. 132) of the 1975 NHL Draft by the Toronto Maple Leafs and had 93 points (26 goals, 67 assists) in 177 NHL games with Toronto and the Minnesota North Stars. 

Parker (Somerville, Massachusetts) coached Boston University for 40 seasons before retiring at the end of 2012-13. Under Parker, the Terriers won three NCAA titles, qualified for the NCAA Tournament 24 times, and won 21 Beanpot championships and seven Hockey East titles. He concluded his career with the most wins in BU history (897-472, with 115 ties). His 897 wins are an NCAA record for victories at one school and he ranks third all-time behind Jerry York and Ron Mason, each of whom coached at more than one school.

Parker was named NCAA Coach of the Year three times (1975, 1978, 2009) and Hockey East Coach of the Year five times (1986, 1992, 2000, 2005, 2006).

Smith (Gloucester, Massachusetts) coached the U.S. Women's Team at three Winter Olympics, winning the first-ever women's hockey gold medal in 1998. Smith guided the U.S. to the silver medal at the 2002 Salt Lake City Olympics and the bronze at the 2006 Torino Olympics. He also led the U.S. to a gold medal at the 2005 IIHF Women's World Championship.

The 1998 Olympic women's team was inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 2009.

Smith spent five seasons as an assistant for the men's team at Yale University and nine years as an assistant at Boston University under Parker. He also coached at Dartmouth in 1990-91, and at Northeastern from 1991-96 before being named coach of the Women's National Team in 1996. 

Collins (Springfield, Massachusetts) spent 28 years as an NHL linesman. He is the third official inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame, joining Bill Chadwick (1974) and Hal Trumble (1985).

Collins worked 1,964 regular-season games and 296 playoff games, including 12 in the Final. He also officiated two NHL All-Star Games and the 1998 Nagano Olympics.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.