Skip to Main Content
Hall of Fame

10 who could join Teemu Selanne in Hall next year

Longtime star should be voted in, leaving three spots available in Class of 2017

by Dan Rosen @drosennhl / Senior Writer

TORONTO -- Teemu Selanne should expect a phone call from Hockey Hall of Fame chairman Lanny McDonald sometime in late June informing him that he's going to be a headliner in the Hall's Class of 2017.

Eric Lindros, Sergei Makarov and Rogie Vachon will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in the players' category on Monday. Pat Quinn will be inducted in the builders' category. Sam Rosen will go in as the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award winner and Bob Verdi as the Elmer Ferguson Memorial Award winner.

Selanne is expected to be a lock to get his Hall call next year, his first year of eligibility after waiting the mandated three years after his retirement. Provided he does, he'll be the second Finnish player, after Jari Kurri in 2001, to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Selanne finished his NHL career with 684 goals and 1,457 points in 1,451 games. He is 11th all-time in goals, 15th in points and 24th in games played. The only players with more points who are not already in the Hall of Fame are Jaromir Jagr (1,874), who is still active with the Florida Panthers, and Mark Recchi (1,533).

Jagr is a lock whenever he does retire. Recchi is going into his fourth year of eligibility to get into the Hall. He had 76 more points than Selanne, but played in 201 more games.

Selanne won the Stanley Cup in 2007, the Calder Trophy in 1993, the Maurice Richard Trophy in 1999, the Masterton Trophy in 2006, and four Olympic medals, including a bronze in 2014, when at 43 years old he had six points and was voted the most valuable player at the Olympics.

Video: Rosen's Hockey Hall of Fame Class of 2017 Predictions

Assuming Selanne is a slam dunk to get the necessary 75 percent of the vote from the Hall of Fame's 18-member selection committee to be inducted, it will leave three openings in the players' category. The maximum number of players that can be inducted per year is four.

Here are 10 former players who are viable candidates to join Selanne in the Hall's Class of 2017.

Daniel Alfredsson (1st year eligible)

Alfredsson, the longtime captain of the Ottawa Senators, had 444 goals and 713 assists for 1,157 points in 1,246 games during 18 NHL seasons. He never won the Stanley Cup, but won an Olympic gold medal with Sweden in 2006 and a silver in 2014. He also won the Calder Trophy in 1996.

Mark Recchi (4th year eligible)

Recchi won the Stanley Cup three times as a player. He is 12th all-time in points (1,533), 15th in assists (956), 20th in goals (577) and fourth in games played (1,652). He's the only retired player with at least 500 goals and 1,500 points who is not in the Hall of Fame.

Chris Osgood (4th year eligible)

Osgood compares favorably to Vachon despite playing in different eras. Osgood won 401 games and the Stanley Cup three times, including twice as the starter. Vachon won 355 games and the Cup three times, once as a starter. Osgood had 50 shutouts; Vachon had 51. Osgood is 11th all-time in wins despite being 20th in appearances (744). Vachon is 19th in wins and 16th in appearances (795). Osgood had a 2.49 goals-against average; Vachon had a 2.99 GAA.

Curtis Joseph (5th year eligible)

All that's missing from Joseph's resume is the Stanley Cup. He is fourth all-time in wins (454) and fifth in appearances (943). He had 51 shutouts, the same as Vachon. Joseph had seven 30-plus win seasons, twice finishing with 36.

Paul Kariya (5th year eligible)

Kariya, like Pavel Bure and Lindros, had his career cut short because of injuries; however, he was a dominant player when healthy. Bure and Lindros are in the Hall of Fame. Kariya had 989 points, including 402 goals, in 989 NHL games. He also won gold with Canada at the 2002 Salt Lake Olympics, at the 1994 IIHF World Championship and the 1993 World Junior Championship. He's a two-time Lady Byng Trophy winner and was one of the greatest college players of all time, winning the Hobey Baker Award and the national championship with Maine in 1993.

Jeremy Roenick (6th year eligible)

Roenick is the ultimate bubble guy for the selection committee. He scored 513 goals and 1,216 points in 1,363 games. He never won the Stanley Cup or an individual trophy, but he was one of the most dominant players in the League from 1990-94, when he scored 190 goals and 411 points in 327 games. He was consistent for the rest of his career, but never scored 40 goals or 80 points in a season again. He won a silver medal with the United States at the 2002 Salt Lake City Olympics.

Alexander Mogilny (9th year eligible)

Makarov lobbied for Mogilny's eventual induction this past weekend, and he might have a point. Mogilny had 1,032 points, including 473 goals, in 990 NHL games. He won the Stanley Cup in 2000 with the New Jersey Devils, making him a member of the International Ice Hockey Federation's Triple Gold Club. Mogilny also won gold medals with the Soviet Union in the 1988 Calgary Olympics and the 1989 World Championship. He scored 76 goals in 77 games with the Buffalo Sabres in the 1992-93 season.

Dave Andreychuk (9th year eligible)

If 600 goals is a benchmark number for induction, especially if the player also won the Stanley Cup, why isn't Andreychuk in the Hall of Fame yet? Andreychuk scored 640 goals and won the Cup as the captain of the Tampa Bay Lightning in 2004. He is the only retired player with 600 or more goals who isn't in the Hall of Fame. Andreychuk could be seen as a compiler since he played in 1,639 games, seventh all-time, whereas Dino Ciccarelli, who was inducted in 2013, scored 608 goals in 1,232 games. Andreychuk's numbers make him an annual topic of debate.

Theo Fleury (9th year eligible)

He finished his NHL career with 1,088 points, including 455 goals, in 1,084 games. He won the Stanley Cup with the Calgary Flames in 1989 and gold medals with Canada in the 1988 World Juniors, 1991 Canada Cup and 2002 Olympics. Fleury's career was cut short because of drug and alcohol problems he has since overcome.

Kevin Lowe (16th year eligible)

Lowe was the stay-at-home defenseman on the dynastic Edmonton Oilers' teams of the 1980s, which means that although he was extraordinarily valuable, he didn't get the same accolades as Wayne Gretzky, Mark Messier, Paul Coffey and company. His Oilers teammates have stated their goal is to do what they can to get Lowe inducted. He is a six-time Stanley Cup winner (five with the Oilers, one with the New York Rangers). Lowe had 431 points in 1,254 games but he was best-known for playing an unglamorous role on the glamour team of the '80s.

View More