Skip to main content
Hall of Fame

Teemu Selanne, Joe Sakic named to IIHF Hall of Fame

Saku Koivu, Uwe Krupp among others to be inducted on May 21 @NHLdotcom

Teemu Selanne and Joe Sakic were among those named to the International Ice Hockey Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Selanne, 46, had 684 goals and 1,457 points in 1,451 NHL games. He played for his native Finland at the Olympics six times, winning the silver medal in at the 2006 Torino Olympics and the bronze medal three times (1998, 2010, 2014). In 37 games at the Olympics, he had 24 goals and 43 points. He closed his international career with six points in six games as Finland's captain at the 2014 Sochi Olympics and being named the tournament's most valuable player.

Sakic, 47, captained the Colorado Avalanche to the Stanley Cup twice during his 20 NHL seasons with the Avalanche/Quebec Nordiques franchise. He's ninth in NHL history with 1,641 points in 1,378 games. Sakic is also a member of the IIHF Triple Gold Club, winning a gold medal for Canada at the 2002 Salt Lake City Olympics and the 1994 IIHF World Championship to go with his Stanley Cup championships.

Also named was Saku Koivu, 42, who had 832 points in 1,124 NHL games with the Montreal Canadiens and Anaheim Ducks. He spent 10 seasons as captain of the Canadiens, the first Europe-born player to hold that role, and is the second-longest tenured Canadiens captain after Jean Beliveau. He also was the captain for Finland at numerous international events, including the Olympics in 1998, 2006 and 2010. Koivu also helped Finland win its first gold medal at the IIHF World Championship in 1995 and was captain when Finland advanced to the championship game at the 2004 World Cup of Hockey.

In addition, the Class of 2017 includes former NHL defenseman Uwe Krupp and former women's hockey star Angela Ruggiero. Dieter Kalt, former president of the Austrian Ice Hockey Federation, will be inducted as a builder; former Great Britain player and coach Tony Hand will receive the Richard "Bibi" Torriani Award; and France ice hockey executive Patrick Francheterre will be given the Paul Loicq Award.

The induction ceremony will be held in Cologne, Germany, on May 21, the final day of the 2017 IIHF World Championship.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.