Skip to main content
Stanley Cup Final

Penguins join historic company with fifth Stanley Cup championship

Become seventh team to win title that many times, fifth to repeat as champions twice @NHLdotcom

The Pittsburgh Penguins won the Stanley Cup with a 2-0 win against the Nashville Predators on Sunday to become the seventh team to win the NHL championship at least five times.

Pittsburgh joined the Edmonton Oilers as the teams added after the Original Six to do so. 

The Penguins are the first team to repeat since the Detroit Red Wings in 1997 and 1998.


[RELATED: Complete Penguins vs. Predators series coveragePenguins show how repeating is done, defeat Predators in Game 6 of Final]


Pittsburgh also won the Stanley Cup in 1991, 1992 and 2009 and is tied for sixth among Stanley Cup champions, with the Oilers. The Montreal Canadiens have won 24 titles, followed by the Toronto Maple Leafs (13), Detroit Red Wings (11), Boston Bruins (six) and Chicago Blackhawks (six).

Of teams with at least five championships, the Canadiens won back-to-back titles 10 times, most recently four straight from 1976-79. The Maple Leafs have repeated four times, the Red Wings three times, and the Oilers twice. 

The other NHL teams to win back-to-back titles are the Philadelphia Flyers (1974-75) and the New York Islanders, who won four in a row from 1980-83.

Video: PIT@NSH, Gm6: Bettman awards Stanley Cup to Pens

Sidney Crosby won the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoff MVP for the second straight season, scoring 27 points (eight goals, 19 assists) in 24 games. In 2016, the Penguins captain had 19 points (six goals, 13 assists) in 23 games that ended when Pittsburgh defeated the San Jose Sharks in six games in the Final. 

Evgeni Malkin had 36 points (14 goals, 22 assists) and won the Conn Smythe Trophy in 2009 when the Penguins defeated the Detroit Red Wings in seven games. 

Current co-owner Mario Lemieux helped Pittsburgh win back-to-back titles and was the Conn Smythe winner in 1991, scoring 44 points when they defeated the Minnesota North Stars in six games, and in 1992, scoring 34 points when they swept the Chicago Blackhawks, leading the playoffs each time.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.