Skip to Main Content
Press Release

NHL releases game times for Stanley Cup Qualifiers

Rangers, Hurricanes start postseason at 12 p.m. ET on Aug. 1

by NHL Public Relations @PR_NHL

NEW YORK - The National Hockey League today announced the dates and starting times for the 2020 Stanley Cup Qualifiers, which begin Saturday, Aug. 1, with a slate of five games.

The schedule, which can be viewed in its entirety here, offers flexibility to maximize the viewing experience for fans. Games have been scheduled on a staggered basis, providing hours of continuous action.

Each best-of-five series features one set of back-to-back games, occurring between Games 2 and 3, Games 3 and 4, or Games 4 and 5 (if necessary).

Each team also will play one exhibition game, starting Tuesday, July 28, in advance of the 2020 Stanley Cup Qualifiers. There will be three games on July 28, six on July 29 and three on July 30.

The 2020 Stanley Cup Qualifiers featuring the 16 teams that are contesting best-of-five series to determine the eight teams advancing to the 2020 Stanley Cup Playoffs, commonly referred to as the Qualifying Round, will begin Saturday, Aug. 1.

The 2020 Stanley Cup Qualifiers featuring the top four teams from each conference to determine seeding in the 2020 Stanley Cup Playoffs, commonly referred to as the Round Robin, will begin Sunday, Aug. 2, with two games - one in each hub city.

The 12 participating Eastern Conference teams will play at Scotiabank Arena in Toronto, while the 12 participating Western Conference teams will compete at Rogers Place in Edmonton.

Broadcast information for all games will be released in the coming days.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.