Skip to main content


NHL Draft

First 26 picks of 2016 NHL Draft set

Five teams have multiple selections in first round

by Adam Kimelman @NHLAdamK / Deputy Managing Editor

The first 26 picks of the first round of the 2016 NHL Draft are set following the conclusion of the second round of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

The NHL Draft Lottery, which was held April 30, established the order for the first 14 selections. The next 12 spots were set by the results of the first two rounds of the playoffs. Non-division winning teams were placed in inverse order of their regular-season point totals, then division winners in the same fashion.

The draft will be held June 24-25 at First Niagara Center in Buffalo.

Five teams have multiple picks in the first round.

The Winnipeg Jets, who won the second pick in the lottery, also have the Chicago Blackhawks' pick at No. 22, acquired in the trade for forward Andrew Ladd.

The Arizona Coyotes have the seventh pick and the New York Rangers' selection at No. 20, acquired in the trade for defenseman Keith Yandle.

The Carolina Hurricanes have their pick at No. 13 and the Los Angeles Kings' selection at No. 21, which they received in the trade for defenseman Andrej Sekera.

The Toronto Maple Leafs, who won the lottery and will pick No. 1, also have the Pittsburgh Penguins' pick from the Phil Kessel trade.

The Boston Bruins have the No. 14 pick and the Sharks' first-round selection, acquired in the trade for goaltender Martin Jones.

With the Penguins playing the Tampa Bay Lightning in the Eastern Conference Final and the Sharks opposing the St. Louis Blues in the Western Conference Final, those picks will be determined at the conclusion of the playoffs. The teams that lose in the conference finals will have the 27th and 28th picks. The losing team in the Stanley Cup Final will pick No. 29; the winner will have the 30th pick.

1. Toronto Maple Leafs

2. Winnipeg Jets

3. Columbus Blue Jackets

4. Edmonton Oilers

5. Vancouver Canucks

6. Calgary Flames

7. Arizona Coyotes

8. Buffalo Sabres

9. Montreal Canadiens

10. Colorado Avalanche

11. New Jersey Devils

12. Ottawa Senators

13. Carolina Hurricanes

14. Boston Bruins

15. Minnesota Wild

16. Detroit Red Wings

17. Nashville Predators

18. Philadelphia Flyers

19. New York Islanders

20. Arizona Coyotes (from New York Rangers)

21. Carolina Hurricanes (from Los Angeles Kings)

22. Winnipeg Jets (from Chicago Blackhawks)

23. Florida Panthers

24. Anaheim Ducks

25. Dallas Stars

26. Washington Capitals

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.