Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Situation Room Initiated Challenge: EDM @ LAK - 19:50 of the Third Period

No goal Los Angeles

NHL.com @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: EDM vs. LAK

Situation Room: Brown's late goal is overturned

Dustin Brown's goal is overturned upon video review after the Oilers challenge for goalie interference with seven seconds left in the game

  • 01:43 •

At 19:50 of the third period in the Oilers/Kings game, the Situation Room initiated a review under the terms of a Coach's Challenge to review whether Los Angeles' Dustin Brown interfered with Edmonton goaltender Cam Talbot prior to his goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that Brown pushed Talbot's pad and the puck across the goal line. According to Rule 78.5 (ix) "Apparent goals shall be disallowed by the Referee when a goaltender has been pushed into the net together with the puck after making a save."

Therefore the original call is overturned - no goal Los Angeles Kings.

Rule 78.7: Coach's Challenge

A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios:

1. "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal

A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-side" infraction by the attacking team.

New for 2017-18: If the result of the challenge is that the play was "On-side", the goal shall count and the team that issued the challenge shall be assessed a minor penalty for delaying the game.

2. Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper"

A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or

A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play.

Updated for 2017-18: A team may only request a Coach's Challenge for Interference on the Goalkeeper if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.