Skip to Main Content
NHL Insider

25 facts about Red Wings playoff streak

Historic postseason run that started in 1990-91 season comes to end

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor

The Detroit Red Wings streak of 25 consecutive appearances in the Stanley Cup Playoffs officially ended on Tuesday. Though there have been longer streaks in the NHL, the Red Wings' is arguably the greatest because of their postseason success and their ability to adapt to new conditions, including the NHL salary cap that was instituted in 2005. 

Here are 25 facts and numbers about the Red Wings streak:

0 -- Players in the NHL today who were in the League the last time the Red Wings missed the playoffs. Jaromir Jagr entered the League in 1990-91, the first year of the streak.

1 -- Jack Adams awards won by Detroit coaches during the streak. That came in 1995-96, when the Red Wings won an NHL-record 62 games and finished with 131 points under coach Scotty Bowman. However, the season ended without a championship when the Red Wings lost to the Colorado Avalanche in the Western Conference Final. 

2 -- NHL teams that have had playoff streaks longer than 25 seasons. The Boston Bruins hold the record with 29 seasons (1967-68 through 1995-96), and the Chicago Blackhawks are second with 28 (1969-70 through 1996-97). The St. Louis Blues also qualified for the playoffs in 25 consecutive seasons (1980-2004). Only the Bruins (1970 and 1972) won the Stanley Cup during their streak. 

3 -- Players who served as Detroit's captain during the streak. Steve Yzerman was named captain in 1986, before the streak began, and served until he retired in 2006. Nicklas Lidstrom succeeded him and was captain until retiring in 2012. Henrik Zetterberg has been captain for the past five seasons. 

Video: Steve Yzerman was Detroit's captain for 19 seasons

4 -- Stanley Cup championships won by the Red Wings during the streak. Detroit ended a 42-year Cup drought by winning in 1997, repeated in 1998, then won again in 2002 and 2008. The Red Wings are the only team to win four championships in the past 20 years. 

5 -- Russian players used in the same unit by Bowman during the mid-1990s. "The Russian Five" were a key to the Red Wings' 1997 Stanley Cup championship, though one of the five, Vladimir Konstantinov, didn't get the chance to try for a second title because of an auto accident that ended his career after six NHL seasons. He finished second in balloting for the Norris Trophy in his final season. 

6 -- Trips to the Stanley Cup Final by the Red Wings during their streak. In addition to their four championships, the Red Wings were swept by the New Jersey Devils in the 1995 Final and lost in seven games to the Pittsburgh Penguins in 2009. 

7 -- Number of times Lidstrom won the Norris Trophy during the streak. Lidstrom, who joined the Red Wings in 1991-92, won the Norris from 2001-03, 2006-08 and again in 2011. Only Bobby Orr (eight) has won more. 

Video: Nicklas Lidstrom won seven Norris Trophies

8 -- Consecutive playoff appearances by the New England Patriots and Green Bay Packers, the longest active streak in the NFL. The Dallas Cowboys (1975-83) and Indianapolis Colts (2002-10) hold the NFL record with nine. 

9 -- Players on the 2002 Red Wings who've been inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame: Yzerman, Lidstrom, Sergei Fedorov, Brett Hull, Chris Chelios, Dominik Hasek, Igor Larionov, Luc Robitaille and Brendan Shanahan. Pavel Datsyuk, who is playing in Russia, could become the 10th after he retires. That team was coached by Bowman, another Hall of Famer. 

10 -- Players on Detroit's current roster who were born after the Red Wings started their streak of playoff seasons in October 1990. The youngest of those players, forward Dylan Larkin, was born in 1996, after the Red Wings extended their streak to six seasons. 

11 -- Consecutive seasons in the playoffs (including 2016-17) by the Penguins, who now have the longest active playoff streak in the NHL. The Blackhawks are next with nine in a row. 

12 -- Consecutive 100-point seasons during the streak, an NHL record. The Red Wings had 100 or more points in every season from 1999-00 through 2011-12. 

13 -- Zetterberg's personal playoff streak, the longest among active NHL players entering this season. Zetterberg had 120 points (57 goals, 63 assists) in 137 playoff games during the streak. He won the Conn Smythe Trophy in 2008, the last time the Red Wings won the Stanley Cup.

Video: DET@ARI: Zetterberg buries a wrister from the circle

14 -- First-place finishes by the Red Wings during their streak. Detroit won the Central Division in 1991-92, from 1993-94 through 1995-96, in 1998-99, from 2000-01 through 2008-09 and in 2010-11.

20 -- Longest previous playoff streak in Red Wings history. Detroit made the playoffs every season from 1938-39 through 1957-58, winning the Stanley Cup five times during that span.

22 -- Longest playoff streak in NBA history. The Syracuse Nationals/Philadelphia 76ers franchise qualified for the playoffs in every season from 1950-71. The San Antonio Spurs own the NBA's longest current streak; 2016-17 will be their 20th consecutive season in the playoffs.

23 -- Consecutive home victories by the Red Wings during the 2011-12 season, the most in NHL history. The streak began on Nov. 5, 2011, with a 5-0 win against the Anaheim Ducks and ended with a 4-3 shootout loss to the Vancouver Canucks on Feb. 23, 2012.

25 -- Seasons during the streak the Red Wings played at Joe Louis Arena, which will host its final NHL game on April 9. Only two other teams, the New York Rangers and Calgary Flames, are playing in the same building they used when Detroit's streak began. 

26 -- Goaltenders who played at least one game for Detroit during the streak of playoff seasons. That includes Scott King, Dave Gagnon and Marc Lamothe; each appeared in two games, the fewest of any goalies who played during the streak. 

33 -- Playoff series won by the Red Wings since the streak began. Detroit won nine in a row from 1997 through the first round in 1999; the Red Wings' most recent series victory came against the Anaheim Ducks in the first round in 2013. 

34 -- Victories by the Red Wings in 1990-91, the first season of the streak and the only one when they finished with a points percentage below .500. With a 34-38-8 record and 76 points, the Red Wings came in third in the Norris Division. 

38 -- The Red Wings' average first pick in the NHL Draft during the streak, thanks to their success and trades.

41 -- Wins by Dominik Hasek in 2001-02, the most by a Detroit goaltender in any of the 25 seasons. No one else won 40. 

Video: Dominik Hasek won Vezina Trophy six times, Hart twice

1991 -- Last time the Red Wings picked in the top 10 of the NHL Draft; they took forward Martin Lapointe with the No. 10 selection. From 1992 through 2013, they picked no higher than 19th.

View More