Skip to Main Content

2017 NHL All-Star Game rosters

Rookies Auston Matthews, Patrik Laine among 40 selected to play in Los Angeles on Jan. 29 @NHLdotcom

Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews and Winnipeg Jets right wing Patrik Laine, tied for the lead among rookies with 21 goals each, were among the 40 players named Tuesday to the four divisional rosters for the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game in Los Angeles. Washington Capitals right wing Alex Ovechkin, who has 19 goals and is the reigning Rocket Richard Memorial Trophy holder, was also named.

The 40 players selected by the NHL join the four captains, who were voted in by fans earlier this month, to take part in the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Weekend at Staples Center in Los Angeles. The 2017 Coors Light NHL All-Star Skills Competition is Jan. 28 at Staples Center (7 p.m. ET; NBCSN, SN, TVA Sports). The 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Game is Jan. 29 (3:30 p.m. ET; NBC, SN, TVA Sports).

Each division is represented by six forwards, three defensemen and two goalies. The divisional teams will compete head-to-head in the Skills Competition on Saturday and then will face off in semifinal games Sunday. The winners of the semifinal games will play for the championship. Each game is played in a 3-on-3 format with two 10-minute halves.

The four coaches for the 2017 Honda NHL All-Star Weekend will be Michel Therrien of the Montreal Canadiens (Atlantic), Bruce Boudreau of the Minnesota Wild (Central), John Tortorella of the Columbus Blue Jackets (Metropolitan) and Peter DeBoer of the San Jose Sharks (Pacific).

The Pacific Division won the 2016 All-Star Game in Nashville, defeating the Central Division 9-6 in the semifinal and the Atlantic Division 1-0 in the final.

Edmonton Oilers center Connor McDavid, who leads the League with 48 points, was selected as captain of the Pacific Division. Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby, who is first in the NHL with 26 goals, is the Metropolitan Division captain. P.K. Subban of the Nashville Predators, is the Central Division captain but has not played since Dec. 15 because of an upper-body injury. Montreal Canadiens goaltender Carey Price, who is back after missing most of the 2015-16 season because of a knee injury, is the Atlantic Division captain. Price is 20-6-4 with a 2.12 goals-against average and .928 save percentage.


Here are the full rosters:






Nikita Kucherov, Tampa Bay Lightning
Brad Marchand, Boston Bruins
Auston Matthews, Toronto Maple Leafs
Frans Nielsen, Detroit Red Wings
Kyle Okposo, Buffalo Sabres
Vincent Trocheck, Florida Panthers



Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning
Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators
Shea Weber, Montreal Canadiens



Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens (C)
Tuukka Rask, Boston Bruins








Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins (C)
Cam Atkinson, Columbus Blue Jackets * replacement for Evgeni Malkin
Taylor Hall, New Jersey Devils
Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
Wayne Simmonds, Philadelphia Flyers
John Tavares, New York Islanders

Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins ^ will miss game due to injury



Justin Faulk, Carolina Hurricanes
Seth Jones, Columbus Blue Jackets
Ryan McDonagh, New York Rangers



Sergei Bobrovsky, Columbus Blue Jackets
Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals







Patrick Kane, Chicago Blackhawks
Patrik Laine, Winnipeg Jets
Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado Avalanche
Tyler Seguin, Dallas Stars
Vladimir Tarasenko, St. Louis Blues
Jonathan Toews, Chicago Blackhawks



P.K. Subban, Nashville Predators (C)
Duncan Keith, Chicago Blackhawks
Ryan Suter, Minnesota Wild



Corey Crawford, Chicago Blackhawks
Devan Dubnyk, Minnesota Wild







Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers (C)
Jeff Carter, Los Angeles Kings
Johnny Gaudreau, Calgary Flames
Bo Horvat, Vancouver Canucks
Ryan Kesler, Anaheim Ducks
Joe Pavelski, San Jose Sharks



Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks
Drew Doughty, Los Angeles Kings
Cam Fowler, Anaheim Ducks



Martin Jones, San Jose Sharks
Mike Smith, Arizona Coyotes

View More