Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Cole Caufield wins Hobey Baker Award

The Laval Rocket forward has officially been recognized as the top NCAA player this season

by Matt Cudzinowski @CanadiensMTL /

MONTREAL - Cole Caufield enjoyed an outstanding sophomore year at the University of Wisconsin, and he has the hardware to prove it.

SHOP: Saku Koivu Player T-Shirt

On Friday, the 20-year-old Stevens Point, WI native was named the winner of the Hobey Baker Award, which is presented annually to the best player in the NCAA ranks.

Caufield was chosen over North Dakota sophomore forward Shane Pinto and Minnesota State junior goaltender Dryden McKay.

Tweet from @BadgerMHockey: Our guy, @ColeCaufield wins the @HobeyBakerAward #ColeForHobey

The former 15th overall selection of the Canadiens joins a special list of players who've previously claimed the honor, including Neal Broten (1981), Paul Kariya (1993), Brendan Morrison (1997), Chris Drury (1998), Ryan Miller (2001), Johnny Gaudreau (2014), Jack Eichel (2015) and Cale Makar (2019).

Caufield is just the second member of the Badgers to win the Hobey Baker Award.

Blake Geoffrion, who played 13 games for Montreal during his NHL career, secured the coveted trophy in 2010.

Tweet from @BadgerMHockey: Welcome to the club @ColeCaufield!!A message from 2010 @HobeyBakerAward winner @BlakeGeoffrion#ColeForHobey

Caufield led the nation in scoring this season, registering 52 points (30 goals, 22 assists) in 31 games.

He was named the unanimous Big Ten Player of the Year and garnered College Hockey News' Player of the Year accolades as well.

View More