Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Andrew Shaw is the Canadiens' nominee for the Masterton Trophy in 2018-19

In recognition of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey

by Montreal Canadiens @CanadiensMTL / News release

MONTREAL - The Montreal chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA) announced on Thursday the selection of Montreal Canadiens forward Andrew Shaw as the team's candidate for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy for the 2018-19 season.

Selected by the Chicago Blackhawks in the fifth round of the 2011 NHL Entry Draft, the 27-year-old Shaw is completing his eighth NHL season. Throughout the year, he has been a true example of perseverance, sportsmanship and determination. Shaw has played 58 games so far this season, missing two matchups early in the year with a virus, and 15 games in January and February with a neck injury. Injuries kept him out of the lineup for 14 games in 2016-17, and another 31 games in 2017-18.

The Belleville, ON native has set career-highs in assists (24), points (42), differential (+13) and game-winning goals (3) this year. His 18 goals are the second-highest total in his career (20 in 2013-14). Shaw ranks second on the team with 69 penalty minutes and fourth with 121 hits. He netted his first career NHL hat trick on February 26 in Detroit. Shaw also recorded the 200th point of his NHL career on December 2 against San Jose.

The Canadiens' forward will now be in contention with the League's 30 other nominees for this coveted award.

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is awarded to the NHL player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. The winner is selected by a poll among the 31 chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season. The trophy commemorates the late Bill Masterton, a player with the Minnesota North Stars, who lost his life following an NHL game on January 15, 1968.

Five Canadiens players have been presented with the Masterton Trophy since its inception; Max Pacioretty (2011-12), Saku Koivu (2001-02), Serge Savard (1978-79), Henri Richard (1973-74), and Claude Provost (1967-68), who was the inaugural recipient of the award.

View More