Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Columbus Blue Jackets

Sergei Bobrovsky captures second career Vezina Trophy

Bobrovsky also won the award as NHL's best goaltender in 2013

by Staff @BlueJacketsNHL /

Columbus, Ohio --- For the second time in his career, Columbus Blue Jackets goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky was awarded the Vezina Trophy, given annually to the National Hockey League's most outstanding goaltender as voted by league general managers, the club and NHL announced tonight at the 2017 NHL Awards and NHL Expansion Draft held in Las Vegas. He also won the award following the 2012-13 season. Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals and Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens were the other two finalists.

Bobrovsky posted a 41-17-5 record, 2.06 goals-against average, .931 save percentage and seven shutouts in 63 games this season, leading the NHL in GAA and SV%, while ranking third in wins and shutouts (tied). He joins Price, who recorded 44 wins and a .933 SV% with the Canadiens in 2014-15, as the only netminders to win 40 games and earn a .930 SV% in a single season in NHL history. Along the way, he won 14-straight games from November 29 to January 3, tying the second-longest winning streak in NHL history. He was named the NHL's First Star for the month of December (12-0-0, 1.75 GAA, .939 SV%) and Second Star in March (9-1-1, 1.09 GAA, .967 SV%) and posted three-straight shutouts on March 2 vs. Minnesota, Mar. 5 at New Jersey and March 7 vs. New Jersey to tie a club record. He also made his NHL All-Star Game debut at STAPLES Center in Los Angeles in January.

The 28-year-old native of Novokuznetsk, Russia won the Vezina Trophy in 2012-13 after going 21-11-6 with a 2.00 GAA, .932 SV% and four shutouts in 38 games. Since arriving in Columbus from the Philadelphia Flyers in a June 2012 trade, he has gone 139-84-20 with a 2.36 GAA, .923 SV% and 19 shutouts in 247 games.

Bobrovsky is the first two-time finalist of a major NHL award in franchise history and the second Blue Jackets goaltender to be recognized for the Vezina. Steve Mason finished second in the voting to winner Tim Thomas of the Boston Bruins in 2008-09. Minnesota's Niklas Backstrom was the third finalist that season.

View More