Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Colorado Avalanche

Projected Lineup: Avalanche at Canucks

Nikita Zadorov returns to game action as Antoine Bibeau starts

by Ron Knabenbauer @RonKnab /

VANCOUVER, British Columbia--Two days after making his Colorado Avalanche debut, goaltender Antoine Bibeau will get his first start in burgundy and blue as the club takes on the Vancouver Canucks tonight at Rogers Arena.

Bibeau made nine saves on 10 shots in the second half of the Avs' 6-2 loss at the Edmonton Oilers, entering the game in relief of starter Adam Werner. It was his third career NHL game and first since Dec. 29 at the Tampa Bay Lightning as a member of the Toronto Maple Leafs.

Werner will be the backup this evening while Philipp Grubauer (lower body) and Pavel Francouz (concussion) continue to progress from their respective injuries. Both netminders skated today.

Forward Tyson Jost will miss his first game of the year, as he is day-to-day with an upper-body injury. He will be replaced in the lineup by Jayson Megna, who was scratched on Thursday.

Colorado will get one healthy body back in the lineup as Nikita Zadorov returns to action after missing the last three games from a broken jaw suffered from a shot on Nov. 7 against the Nashville Predators.

Defensemen Mark Barberio and Kevin Connauton will be the club's healthy scratches.

Below is the Avalanche's projected lineup against the Canucks. All forward combinations and defensive pairings are subject to change.

11 Matt Calvert - 29 Nathan MacKinnon - 72 Joonas Donskoi
95 Andre Burakovsky - 91 Nazem Kadri - 37 J.T. Compher
83 Matt Nieto 41 Pierre-Edouard Bellemare - 13 Valeri Nichushkin
12 Jayson Megna - 81 Vladislav Kamenev - 36 T.J. Tynan

49 Samuel Girard - 6 Erik Johnson
27 Ryan Graves - 8 Cale Makar
16 Nikita Zadorov - 28 Ian Cole

35 Antoine Bibeau (starter)
30 Adam Werner (backup)

Healthy Scratches: Mark Barberio, Kevin Connauton

Injuries Report: Pavel Francouz (concussion protocol), Philipp Grubauer (lower body), Tyson Jost (upper body), Gabriel Landeskog (lower body), Mikko Rantanen (lower body), Colin Wilson (lower body)

View More