Skip to main content
NHL Awards staff picks: Ted Lindsay Award

Kane, Benn, Holtby voted finalists for 'most outstanding player' honors by NHLPA @NHLdotcom

The 2016 NHL Awards will take place at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on June 22, and staffers will be providing their selections for the winners.

The Ted Lindsay Award is given "to the most outstanding player in the NHL as voted by members of the National Hockey League Players' Association." The finalists for the 2015-16 season are forwards Patrick Kane of the Chicago Blackhawks and Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars, and goalie Braden Holtby of the Washington Capitals.

Here are's staff picks for the Ted Lindsay Award:

Amalie Benjamin, Staff Writer

Patrick Kane: Kane was indeed the most outstanding player in the NHL this season and should become the first U.S.-born player to take home the Ted Lindsay Award.

Brian Compton, Deputy Managing Editor

Patrick Kane: Kane was consistently dominant throughout the course of the season. He played all 82 games and led the NHL in scoring with 106 points, 17 more than Benn. Kane finished the season with nine game-winning goals, nearly one-fifth of all of Chicago's wins.

Video: CHI@STL, Gm5: Kane sends Hawks to win in double OT

Nicholas J. Cotsonika, Columnist

Patrick Kane: He was the only player to top 100 points. Kane was actually the only player to top 90 points. With 106 points, he led the League in scoring by 17.

Tom Gulitti, Staff Writer

Patrick Kane: The Blackhawks right wing not only was the only player in the NHL to reach 100 points with 106, but also was the only player to reach 90 points and won the scoring race by 17 points ahead of Benn.

Adam Kimelman, Deputy Managing Editor

Patrick Kane: Kane's record-setting 26-game point streak was the top story in the League the first half of the season and sparked his run to becoming the first United States-born winner of the Art Ross Trophy. He also had his first 40-goal season and was a personal-best plus-17.

Video: Ja. Benn nets rebound, ties game

Mike G. Morreale, Staff Writer

Jamie Benn: The Stars captain had career highs in goals (41) and points (89) and his 1.09 points-per-game average ranked second in the League behind Kane (1.29). Benn helped lead the Stars to the Central Division title and best record in the Western Conference.

Shawn P. Roarke, Director of Editorial

Braden Holtby: The players showed a willingness to name a goaltender as their most valuable player when they selected Carey Price of the Montreal Canadiens as the Ted Lindsay Award winner last season. Holtby, who tied the NHL record for wins (48), had as good a season in 2015-16 as Price had in 2014-15.

Dan Rosen, Senior Writer

Patrick Kane: He finished with a League-high 106 points, 17 more than anyone else. Kane was at his best in the first half, when he set the record for longest point streak by an American player with a point in 26 consecutive games. He had 33 points in 29 games after the All-Star break.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.