Skip to main content
Situation Room

Video Review: COL @ CGY - 12:10 of the Third Period

No goal Colorado

NHL.com @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: COL vs. CGY

Situation Room: Play stopped before puck entered net

Referee Eric Furlatt had whistled a stoppage in play before Mikko Rantanen's shot entered the net, so no-goal was the ruling on the ice

  • 00:41 •

At 12:10 of the third period in the Avalanche/Flames game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Calgary net. The Referee informed the Situation Room that he blew his whistle to stop play before Colorado's Mikko Rantanen pushed Flames goaltender Mike Smith's pad and puck across the goal line. The decision was made in accordance of Rule 31.2 which states, in part, that "the Referee may deem the play to be stopped slightly prior to the whistle actually being blown. The fact that the puck may come loose or cross the goal line prior to the sound of the whistle has no bearing if the Referee has ruled that the play had been stopped prior to this happening." This is not a reviewable play - no goal Colorado Avalanche.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.