Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the New York Islanders

Lehner Named Finalist For Vezina Trophy

Islanders goaltender posted a 25-13-5 record with a 2.13 GAA, .930 SV% and six shutouts this season

by New York Islanders PR NYIslanders /

The National Hockey League announced that Robin Lehner is a finalist for the 2019 Vezina Trophy, given annually to the National Hockey League's best goaltender. The winner is selected by the 31 General Managers of the NHL. 

Lehner is one of three finalists for the award, alongside Andrei Vasilevskiy of the Tampa Bay Lightning and Ben Bishop of the Dallas Stars. The winner will be announced at the 2019 NHL Awards presented by Bridgestone at the Mandalay Bay Events Center sports and entertainment complex in Las Vegas on June 19, 2019.

Lehner won 25 games this year, the most he's won in a season, and posted a 2.13 GAA, .930 SV%, with six shutouts. The Gothenberg, SW native's .930 SV% was an Islanders single-season record. He was named the NHL's second star of the month for January this past regular season.  

Along with Thomas Greiss, the Islanders won the William Jennings Trophy, having allowed the fewest goals in the NHL (196). Greiss won 23 games, also had five shutouts while posting a career high .927 SV% and a 2.28 GAA. Both goalies were named NHL first stars of the week; Lehner, for the period ending Sunday, Jan. 20 and Greiss for the period ending Sunday, March 17. 

This marks the first-ever Vezina Trophy nomination for Robin Lehner and just the fourth time in franchise history the team has had a goaltender finish in the top three for the award (B. Smith, 1981-82 - won the award, Rollie Melanson 1982-83 & Kelly Hrudey, 1987-88). 

Lehner is also named a finalist for the 2019 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, given annually to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to ice hockey.

Prior to joining the Islanders, Lehner spent three seasons with the Buffalo Sabres and five seasons with the Ottawa Senators, the team that drafted him in the second round of the 2009 NHL draft.  

View More