Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Vegas Golden Knights


Shipachyov's Jersey Number Remains Undecided

The new Golden Knight has worn No. 87 throughout his professional career in Russia

by Dan Marrazza @GoldenKnights /

It's been a quiet topic of conversation ever since Vadim Shipachyov signed with the Golden Knights.

As the player has gotten increasing attention for making the move to North America, as he continues to star for Russia in the World Championships, as NHL fans get more familiar with who Vegas' new center is.

The question has been widely asked about his jersey number. Throughout his career, both with the Russian national team and SKA Saint Petersburg, Shipachyov has become known for wearing his signature No. 87.

RELATED: Shipachyov stays hot at World Championships

Which as much as the same number is associated with Sidney Crosby, as much as No. 8 is associated with Alex Ovechkin or No. 88 with Patrick Kane, No. 87 has been a large part of Shipachyov's identity.

This has led to many assumptions that Shipachyov will wear the same digits for the Golden Knights this season.

Video: Golden Knights sign Vadim Shipachyov

However, in a recent discussion with, general manager George McPhee said that this topic was not part of Shipachyov's contract negotiations, nor has it been discussed.

"There's been no discussion on that," McPhee said. Frankly, it doesn't matter to us what numbers players wear. If the number means something to a player, you can give it to him.

RELATED: Vadim Shipachyov, 8 fun facts

"Some players just say give me a jersey. Other players have some preferences on numbers.

"If we can accommodate them, we will. consider it."

Should the No. 87 become a thing with Shipachyov, it would put him in select company.

In fact, only five players in the 100-year history of the NHL have previously worn this number.


Player Team Years Wearing No. 87
Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins 2005-Present
Donald Brashear Philadelphia Flyers, Washington Capitals, New York Rangers 2002-10
David Musil Edmonton Oilers 2015-2015
Liam O'Brien Washington Capitals 2015, 2017
Pierre Turgeon Colorado Avalanche 2006-07
View More