Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Jack Diller Education Award

Candidacy, Eligibility & Application Info

  • College-bound senior currently attending a Nashville or Middle Tennessee area high school (must be attending college in the fall of 2019).
  • Display leadership qualities in the classroom and/or inspirational qualities on the athletic field.
  • Minimum grade point average of 3.0 from sophomore to senior high school year.
  • Demonstrate the value of education, good work ethic and community outreach.

There will be no discrimination regardless of gender, race or religion when choosing a successful scholarship recipient. The Selection Committee will not base its decisions in any way on the employment status of an applicant or the employment status of the applicant's parents/guardians.

Immediate family members, relatives and front office employees in association with the selection committee and the sponsoring sports teams are not eligible for consideration of a scholarship.

  • Completed online application
  • Taking into consideration academic achievement, athletic success and community involvement, please write a 2-3 page essay explaining why you believe you are a deserving candidate (essays longer than 3 pages will not be considered).
  • Two letters of recommendation from non-relatives. At least one must be from a teacher or coach; peer recommendation letters not considered.
  • Official transcripts from each high school attended.
Diller Education Award Recipients

Each year in the month of April, the Nashville Predators Foundation announces the four recipients of the Jack Diller Education Award. In 2017, a total of $10,000 in college scholarships was awarded to the four students, who were selected from more than 180 high school seniors from 75 different high schools who applied for the award. The Predators Foundation has awarded $120,000 as of 2017 and continues to grow each year.

  • Phoebe Barber from Hohenwald (MTSU)
  • Amy Nguyen from Nashville (Baylor University)
  • William Peters from Nashville (Boston College)
  • Sydney Smith from Wartrace (UT-Chattanooga)
  • Jeffrey Funk from Nashville (Auburn University)
  • William Pace from Fayetteville (Vanderbilt University)
  • Callie Warren from Hendersonville (Lee University)
  • Xiuya Yao from Nashville (Yale University)
  • Melanie Brumfield of Murfreesboro (Mississippi State University)
  • William Kaufmann of Nashville (Trevecca Nazarene University)
  • Lauren Reese of Antioch (Tennessee Tech University)
  • Dylan Sandoval of Morrison (Middle Tennessee State University)
  • Christian Harris of Columbia (University of Alabama)
  • Kaycee Hurd of Ashland City (Martin Methodist College)
  • Chase Lutz of Spring Hill (University of Missouri)
  • Emily Spence of Lewisburg (University of Tennessee at Knoxville)
  • Jayce Arnette of Franklin (North Carolina State University)
  • Taylor Blanton of Woodbury (Tennessee Tech University)
  • Katherine Ferguson of Nashville (Auburn University)
  • Hunter Kinslow of Nashville (University of Tennessee at Knoxville)
  • Haley Doty of White House (Lincoln Memorial University)
  • Jordan LaRocca of Spring Hill (Lee University)
  • Sarah Plantz of Brentwood (University of South Carolina at Columbia)
  • Christopher Wilson of Gallatin (Tennessee Tech University)
  • Leena Patel of Springfield (Sewanee University)
  • Abigail Wilson of Gallatin (Cumberland University)
  • Patrick Brooks of Brentwood 
  • Ian Kukowski of Brentwood (University of Pennsylvania)
  • Greg Ray of Manchester (Middle Tennessee State University)
  • Whitley Rowlett of Mt. Juliet (Middle Tennessee State University)
  • Tazlyn Saez of Lebanon (Volunteer State Community College)
  • Joseph Scearce of Murfreesboro (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)
  • Anna Caruso of Winchester (Middle Tennessee State University)
  • Reginald Ford of Nashville (Vanderbilt University)
  • Rudi Monyjang of Nashville (University of Tennessee at Knoxville)
  • Tavares Smith of Nashville (Bethune-Cookman University)
  • Jeremy Bost of Mt. Juliet (Lipscomb University)
  • Rebecca Brewster of Brentwood (University of Georgia - Athens)
  • Michael Heslin of Hendersonville (University of Tennessee at Knoxville)
  • Chelsey Traughber of Cedar Hill (Austin Peay State University)
  • Isabel Boersma of Franklin (College of Charleston)
  • Ryan Proctor of Nashville (Auburn University)
  • Adriana Short of Madison (Middle Tennessee State University)
  • Charles Tomkins of Gallatin (University of Tennessee - Chattanooga)
  • Lisa Bentley of Springfield (Tennessee Tech)
  • Sara Bentley of Springfield (Belmont University)
  • William Dale of Nashville (University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill)
  • Hayley Harmon of Lebanon (Tennessee Tech)
  • Bao Nguyen of Antioch (Belmont University)