Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Philadelphia Flyers

PHWA nominates Oskar Lindblom for the NHL's Bill Masterton Trophy

Flyers forward recognized by Philadelphia media in his battle with Ewing's sarcoma

by Philadelphia Flyers @NHLFlyers /

The Philadelphia chapter of the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA) announced today they have nominated Flyers left wing, Oskar Lindblom, for the 2019-20 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy.

The trophy is awarded annually by the National Hockey League to the player who best embodies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to the game of hockey. 

"I'm honored to be nominated for this special award by the Philadelphia PHWA chapter," said Lindblom. "This past season has been a difficult one for sure, but the positive support I've received from my family, my girlfriend, teammates, the Flyers organization and Flyers fans has been a tremendous help and inspiration through these times and I look forward to the day I'm back on the ice. 

Added Lindblom: "I was very touched to see how many people, whether they support the Flyers or another team, were wearing #OskarStrong t-shirts. I continue to feel your support."

In December of 2019, Lindblom was diagnosed with Ewing's sarcoma by leading specialists at the University of Pennsylvania. He has been undergoing treatment ever since, while being a presence alongside his teammates with his frequent visits to the locker room throughout the season.

Prior to the diagnosis, Lindblom was in the midst of a breakout season, recording 11 goals, which was tied for the team lead at the time, and 18 points (11g-7a) in 30 games.

In parts of three NHL seasons, all with the Flyers, Lindblom has recorded 30 goals and 27 assists for 57 points in 134 career regular season games.

Prior to coming over to North America, Lindblom spent three seasons with Brynas IF in the Swedish Hockey League (SHL) and was named Swedish forward of the year in 2016-17 after he was second among all SHL players with 22 goals and fourth with 47 points. 

He was selected by the Flyers in the fifth round (138th overall) in the 2014 NHL Entry Draft, which was held in Philadelphia. He signed a three-year entry-level contact with the team on May 30, 2017.

The winner of the Masterton is selected by a poll among the 31 chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season and is revealed during the NHL Awards Show, which has been postponed. Last year's winner was Robin Lehner of the New York Islanders.

Only three Flyers have taken home the award in franchise history. Most recently Ian Laperriere won the award in 2010. Bob Clarke (1972) and Tim Kerr (1989) were also previous winners. 

Most recent Flyers nominees by the PHWA for the Masterton are:
2018-19: Brian Elliott
2017-18: Claude Giroux
2016-17: Pierre-Edouard Bellemare 
2015-16: Shayne Gostisbehere
2014-15: Nick Schultz

The trophy was presented by the NHL Writers' Association in 1968 to commemorate the late Bill Masterton, a player with the Minnesota North Stars, who exhibited to a high degree the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey, and who died January 15, 1968.

View More