Skip to Main Content
This Date in NHL History

June 20: Niedermayer, Devils go up 2-0 in 1995 Final

Plus: Lightning select Stamkos No. 1 in 2008 Draft; Malkin wins hat trick of honors

by John Kreiser @jkreiser7713 / Managing Editor

1995 SCF, Gm2: End-to-End goal

1995 Cup Final, Gm2: Niedermayer goes end-to-end

June 20: New Jersey Devils' Scott Niedermayer turns the momentum of the game around by going coast-to-coast to score the game-tying goal

  • 00:17 •


1995: Scott Niedermayer scores a spectacular goal and Jim Dowd gets a more conventional one to bring the New Jersey Devils within two wins of their first Stanley Cup championship.

Niedermayer, one of the NHL's fastest defensemen, uses his speed to blast through the neutral zone and drive in on Detroit Red Wings goalie Mike Vernon. His shot misses the net, but the puck comes right back to Niedermayer, who scores at 9:47 of the third period to tie Game 2 of the Final at 2-2. Dowd puts the Devils ahead 3-2 with 1:24 left by knocking in the rebound of a shot by defenseman Shawn Chambers, and Stephane Richer scores into an empty net to wrap up a 4-2 win at Joe Louis Arena that gives the Devils a 2-0 lead in the best-of-7 series.

Dowd's goal is the winner, but Niedermayer's is the one that Detroit coach Scotty Bowman wants to talk about afterward.

"The Niedermayer goal was tough to take," Bowman says. "We know his speed and we let him take the puck from his own goal line through a pretty wide gap in the neutral zone."



2008: The Tampa Bay Lightning use the No. 1 pick in the NHL Draft at Ottawa to select center Steven Stamkos from Sarnia of the Ontario Hockey League. The Los Angeles Kings, picking second, take Guelph defenseman Drew Doughty. The Atlanta Thrashers and St. Louis Blues, picking third and fourth, respectively, also take defensemen; Atlanta selects Zach Bogosian and St. Louis chooses Alex Pietrangelo.


2012: Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins picks up a hat trick of honors at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas. Malkin wins the Hart Trophy as most valuable player to go along with the Art Ross Trophy as the leading regular-season scorer and the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the most outstanding player as voted by members of the NHL Players' Association. 

"It's a special day to me," Malkin says. "I hope it's not the last one. I try to work every year and I hope to be here again."


2018: Taylor Hall takes home the Hart Trophy as MVP at the NHL Awards in Las Vegas after helping the New Jersey Devils qualify for the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2012. Gerard Gallant of the Vegas Golden Knights wins the Jack Adams Award as the NHL's top coach after guiding his first-year team to the Stanley Cup Final.

View More