Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: TBL @ PHI - 16:51 of the Second Period

Original call stands - good goal Philadelphia Flyers

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: TBL vs. PHI

Situation Room: Gostisbehere's goal upheld

3/7/16: Shayne Gostisbehere's 2nd-period goal is upheld after Jon Cooper challenged that there was goaltender interference on the play

  • 03:15 •

At 16:51 of the second period in the Lightning/Flyers game, Tampa Bay requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Sam Gagner interfered with goaltender Andrei Vasilevskiy before the puck entered the net. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that no goaltender interference infractions occurred since Gagner was pushed into Vasilevskiy by a defending player before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Rule 69.1 which states, in part, that contact will not be deemed initiated by the attacking player "if an attacking player has been pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending player so as to cause him to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Philadelphia Flyers

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Tampa Bay Lightning forfeit their time-out

--- 

Coach's Challenge 
1. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios: 

a) "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal 
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-Side" infraction by the attacking team. 

b) Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper" 

(i) A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or 

(ii) A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play. 

2. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play. 

3. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out. 

4. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out. 

View More