Skip to main content

Headlines

Situation Room

Video Review: BUF @ ANA - 12:01 of the Second Period

No goal Anaheim

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: BUF vs. ANA

Situation Room: Ritchie's no-goal confirmed

Nick Ritchie's shot enters the Sabres net in the 2nd, but review confirms the referee's intent to blow the whistle and the no-goal call stands

  • 00:48 •

At 12:01 of the second period in the Sabres/Ducks game, the Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck entered the Buffalo net.

The referee informed the Situation Room that he was in the process of blowing his whistle to stop play before the puck crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.5, apparent goals shall be disallowed "when the Referee deems the play has been stopped, even if he had not physically had the opportunity to stop play by blowing his whistle." This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Anaheim.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.