Skip to main content
Press Release

Nick Foligno, Travis Hamonic honored at 2017 NHL Humanitarian Awards

Blue Jackets forward receives King Clancy Memorial Trophy and Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award; Islanders defenseman wins NHL Foundation Player Award @NHLdotcom

LAS VEGAS - Columbus Blue Jackets left wing Nick Foligno received the King Clancy Memorial Trophy and Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award, while New York Islanders defenseman Travis Hamonic accepted the NHL Foundation Player Award Tuesday at the 2017 NHL Humanitarian Awards, a special event at the Encore at Wynn Las Vegas honoring the League's leaders both on and off the ice.

Foligno won the King Clancy Memorial Trophy - presented "to the player who best exemplifies leadership on and off the ice and who has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution to his community" - as well as the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award - given "to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice, during the regular season." The King Clancy Memorial Trophy recipient is selected by a panel from the Professional Hockey Writers Association and NHL Broadcasters' Association, while the Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award winner is chosen by six-time Stanley Cup champion Mark Messier.

Serving his second season as captain, Foligno led Columbus to a 32-point improvement and its best campaign in franchise history. Off the ice, Foligno and his wife, Janelle, committed $1 million split between Nationwide Children's Hospital and Boston Children's Hospital in support of pediatric congenital heart care in honor of their daughter, Milana. The $500,000 donation to Nationwide Children's Hospital benefited the Center for Cardiovascular Research, which houses the newly named Foligno Family Cardiovascular Research Lab. The $500,000 gift to Boston Children's Hospital established funds to support surgical and fetal cardiac research. Additionally, Foligno continued a partnership with Papa John's Pizza, raising money for the Janis Foligno Foundation - created in memory of his late mother, who died from breast cancer in 2009. The 29-year-old Buffalo native also joined his teammates for various community initiatives, including the Blue Jackets' Meals on Wheels campaign during the holiday season.

Hamonic won the NHL Foundation Player Award, recognizing "an NHL player who applies the core values of hockey - commitment, perseverance and teamwork - to enrich the lives of people in his community." NHL clubs submitted nominations for the NHL Foundation Player Award, with the finalists and winner selected by a judging panel. The NHL Foundation presents $25,000 to the winner's chosen charitable organization; Hamonic has picked the Islanders Children's Foundation, in support of his D-Partner Program.

A reliable defenseman throughout his seven-season NHL career, Hamonic has used his personal experiences to positively impact the community. Through his D-Partner Program, Hamonic has bonded with and directly touched the lives of more than 200 children who, at a young age, have suffered the loss of a parent. The 26-year-old St. Malo, Man., native has spent more than $50,000 hosting D-Partner Program participants at Islanders games, providing VIP treatment as well as special meet-and-greets. Hamonic also has served as an event ambassador for the Children's Wish Foundation and spearheaded numerous Islanders community events, including the team's school and hospital visits.


Year Player
2017 Nick Foligno, CBJ
2016 Henrik Sedin, VAN
2015 Henrik Zetterberg, DET
2014 Andrew Ference, EDM
2013 Patrice Bergeron, BOS
2012 Daniel Alfredsson, OTT
2011 Doug Weight, NYI
2010 Shane Doan, PHX
2009 Ethan Moreau, EDM
2008 Vincent Lecavalier, TBL
2007 Saku Koivu, MTL
2006 Olaf Kolzig, WSH
2004 Jarome Iginla, CGY
2003 Brendan Shanahan, DET
2002 Ron Francis, CAR
2001 Shjon Podein, COL
2000 Curtis Joseph, TOR
1999 Rob Ray, BUF
1998 Kelly Chase, STL
1997 Trevor Linden, VAN
1996 Kris King, WIN
1995 Joe Nieuwendyk, CGY
1994 Adam Graves, NYR
1993 Dave Poulin, BOS
1992 Ray Bourque, BOS
1991 Dave Taylor, LAK
1990 Kevin Lowe, EDM
1989 Bryan Trottier, NYI
1988 Lanny McDonald, CGY


Year Player
2017 Nick Foligno, CBJ
2016 Shea Weber, NSH
2015 Jonathan Toews, CHI
2014 Dustin Brown, LAK
2013 Daniel Alfredsson, OTT
2012 Shane Doan, PHX
2011 Zdeno Chara, BOS
2010 Sidney Crosby, PIT
2009 Jarome Iginla, CGY
2008 Mats Sundin, TOR
2007 Chris Chelios, DET


Year Player
2017 Travis Hamonic, NYI
2016 Mark Giordano, CGY
2015 Brent Burns, SJS
2014 Patrice Bergeron, BOS
2013 Henrik Zetterberg, DET
2012 Mike Fisher, NSH
2011 Dustin Brown, LAK
2010 Ryan Miller, BUF
2009 Rick Nash, CBJ
2008 Vincent Lecavalier, TBL
Trevor Linden, VAN 
2007 Joe Sakic, COL 
2006 Marty Turco, DAL 
2004 Jarome Iginla, CGY 
2003 Darren McCarty, DET 
2002 Ron Francis, CAR
2001 Olaf Kolzig, WSH 
2000 Adam Graves, NYR 
1999 Rob Ray, BUF 
1998 Kelly Chase, STL

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.