Skip to main content
NHL Awards

Connor McDavid of Oilers wins Ted Lindsay Award

Center, 20, voted most outstanding player by peers after leading NHL in scoring @NHLdotcom

Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers won the Ted Lindsay Award, given annually to the most outstanding player in the NHL as voted by members of the NHL Players' Association, at the 2017 NHL Awards and NHL Expansion Draft presented by T-Mobile in Las Vegas on Wednesday. 

McDavid, 20, led the NHL with 100 points (30 goals, 70 assists) this season and helped the Oilers reach the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time since 2006. They were defeated by the Anaheim Ducks in seven games in the Western Conference Second Round. 

He joined Wayne Gretzky (1982-85, 1987) and Mark Messier (1990) as Oilers to win the award and became the youngest to win it since Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby in 2007 as a 19-year-old.

Video: Connor McDavid is presented the Ted Lindsay Award 

McDavid was plus-27 and averaged 21:07 of ice time per game, fourth among NHL forwards. He also had 27 power-play points and six game-winning goals. McDavid had a League-high 14-game point streak (seven goals, 18 assists) from March 14-April 9. 

The other finalists for the award were Crosby, who led the League in goals (44) and finished tied for second with 89 points, and San Jose Sharks defenseman Brent Burns, who led NHL defensemen in goals (29) and points (76). 

McDavid, who was named the youngest captain in NHL history prior to the season, was selected by the Oilers with the first pick in the 2015 NHL Draft and was a finalist for the Calder Trophy as rookie of the year in 2015-16 despite only playing in 45 games. He had 48 points (16 goals, 32 assists) and missed three months because of a broken left clavicle. 

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.