Skip to main content

Headlines

Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: FLA @ BOS - 7:56 of 2nd Period

Good goal Boston Bruins

NHL.com @NHL

Situation Room: FLA vs. BOS

Situation Room: Bergeron's goal stands after review

Patrice Bergeron buries a rebound at the doorstep and the call on the ice stands after the Panthers use their coach's challenge in the 2nd

  • 03:59 •

At 7:56 of the second period in the Panthers/Bruins game, Florida requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Brad Marchand interfered with goaltender Reto Berra before the puck crossed the goal line. 

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed that the position of Marchand did not by itself impact Berra's ability to play his position in the crease and therefore no goaltender interference infractions occurred.

Therefore the original call is upheld - good goal Boston Bruins. 

Since the Coach's Challenge resulted in the original call being overturned, the Panthers forfeit their time-out

--- 

Coach's Challenge 
1. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge to review the following scenarios: 

a) "Off-Side" Play Leading to a Goal 
A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the play should have been stopped by reason of an "Off-Side" infraction by the attacking team. 

b) Scoring Plays Involving Potential "Interference on the Goalkeeper" 

(i) A play that results in a "GOAL" call on the ice where the defending team asserts that the goal should have been disallowed due to "Interference on the Goalkeeper," as described in Rules 69.1, 69.3 and 69.4; or 

(ii) A play that results in a "NO GOAL" call on the ice despite the puck having entered the net, where the on-ice Officials have determined that the attacking team was guilty of "Interference on the Goalkeeper" but where the attacking team asserts: (i) there was no actual contact of any kind initiated by an attacking Player with the goalkeeper; or (ii) the attacking Player was pushed, shoved, or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper; or (iii) the attacking Player's positioning within the goal crease did not impair the goalkeeper's ability to defend his goal and, in fact, had no discernible impact on the play. 

2. A team may only request a Coach's Challenge if they have their time-out available and the Coach's Challenge must be effectively initiated prior to the resumption of play. 

3. If the Coach's Challenge does not result in the original call on the ice being overturned, the team exercising such challenge will forfeit its time-out. 

4. If the Coach's Challenge does result in the call on the ice being overturned, the team successfully exercising such challenge will retain its time-out.

View More