Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: ARI @ COL - 2:41 of the First Period

Good goal Colorado @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: ARI vs. COL

Situation Room: Barrie's goal stands after challenge

Tyson Barrie's goal stands after the Coyotes challenge the initial goal call for goaltender interference

  • 02:58 •

At 2:41 of the first period in the Coyotes/Avalanche game, Arizona requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether a Colorado player interfered with Arizona goaltender Darcy Kuemper prior to Tyson Barrie's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee determined that the actions of Arizona's Luke Schenn caused Colorado's Mikko Rantanen to contact Kuemper before the puck crossed the goal line. The decision was made in accordance with Note 2 of Rule 78.7 (ii) which states, in part, that the goal on the ice should have been allowed because "the attacking Player was pushed, shoved or fouled by a defending Player causing the attacking Player to come into contact with the goalkeeper."

Therefore the original call stands - good goal Colorado Avalanche.

Since the Coach's Challenge did not result in the original call being overturned, the Arizona Coyotes forfeit their time-out.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.