Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Montréal Canadiens

Paul Byron voted the 2017-18 Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy recipient

He wins it for the second time in his career

by Montreal Canadiens @CanadiensMTL / News Release

MONTREAL - Members of the media assigned to the Montreal Canadiens voted forward Paul Byron as the 2017-18 recipient of the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy. The trophy is awarded annually to the member of the Canadiens who played a dominant role during the regular season, without earning any particular honor. This marks the second time Byron has won this trophy in his career, having previously earned it in 2015-16. He succeeds forward Phillip Danault who was the recipient of the award last season.

Byron received the most votes in the race for the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy, earning 75 points in the overall standings ahead of Nicolas Deslauriers (68 points) and Antti Niemi (62 points). 

In his third full season with the Canadiens, Byron has set career-highs in shots (110), blocked shots (53) and hits (133) since the beginning of the 2017-18 season. He leads all Canadiens forwards in blocked shots and ranks third in hits. The Ottawa native is second on the team in goals (19) and ranks sixth in points (34). Byron has scored one game-winning goal and has served 23 penalty minutes. The 5'9'', 162-lbs forward registered his first-career hat trick on December 2 against the Detroit Red Wings.

Created in 1981 to honor the memory of the legendary sportswriter who spent most of his professional career covering the Canadiens, the Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy was first awarded to Doug Jarvis following the 1981-82 season.

2017-18 Jacques Beauchamp-Molson Trophy Rankings

Players 1 2 3 Points
Paul Byron 17 9 6 75
Nicolas Deslauriers 8 18 8 68
Antti Niemi 13 6 11 62
View More